1. Guest, Thank you for visiting Rc-Help. Please do NOT post tech questions in this section, post them in the Tech section instead. Thank you.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  3. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  4. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

The New RC-Help helicopter

Discussion in 'RC-Help Lounge' started by stokke, Nov 12, 2012.

< the new job | Happy Birfday Wolfman76! >
  1. Whirlybird

    Whirlybird New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Bolingbrook, IL (near Chicago)
    Eat some Hostess "Ding Dongles" :lol:

    - - - Updated - - -

    :yikes: You do know a LITTLE about metric . . . 5 meters is more like 16.25 feet :yikes:
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37,167
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I was trying to round it to American Rednek Standards :biggrin1:
     
  3. callsign4223

    callsign4223 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Municipal IT
    Location:
    Midwest City, Oklahoma
    We have used up to 25 foot cord here with no problem. Beyond that I would suggest a USB over cat5 option, those can go for 300 feet. If you do that you could program the 3gx in flight ;)
     
  4. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    The USB v1.0 specs have a 3 meter ( about 10' ) limit

    USB v2.0 has a 5 meter limit

    I've exceeded those lengths on occasion so ultimately it will end up depending on the USB chipset's being used as well as the quality of the cable selected... a cable that has been spliced together will give you a shorter working length usually. Using a cable that exceeds the specs will work the USB chipsets and possibly blow them out sooner than following the spec will.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37,167
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Right on Randy, I knew I could trust you to know this. I'm running v2.0 and v3.0 on my computers, however the 3GX is 2.0 only I do believe. That is some reassuring numbers. Means I can either have the heli on the floor or on the side of my desk as I program it. Makes my life a lot easier. Thanks again.
     
  6. stokke

    stokke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Norway
    Metric system FTW!
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37,167
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You have that WRONG Stokke lmao. It's FTL :chuckles:
     
  8. callsign4223

    callsign4223 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Municipal IT
    Location:
    Midwest City, Oklahoma
    I dunno tony. I really don't like being grouped up with MYANMAR as the last 2 countries still using the inch system.
     
  9. stokke

    stokke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Norway
    I'm sorry but your system isn't logical. It's not precise nor is it practical. But hey, I can understand the difficulty involved in converting 315 million people over to metric.
     
  10. callsign4223

    callsign4223 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Municipal IT
    Location:
    Midwest City, Oklahoma
    The system is more than precise enough for construction and machining purposes. It is not precise enough for nano size science or manufacturing though. It is however confusing if you don't have a head for fractions and or don't work with it on a regular basis.
     
  11. stokke

    stokke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Norway
    We could start debating. But I have seen other threads in other forums that discuss exactly this, and it never ends well. LOL :D
     
  12. zenmetsu

    zenmetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Measurement systems have nothing to do with precision. It is simply a matter of doing extra work. Metric is base-10 and most people are comfortable with this system. The imperial inch/foot system is base12, sometimes base3 (feet/yards) or worse, base5280 when it comes to feet in a mile. The problem with the system stems from the additional math needed for unit conversion and the likelihood of introducing human error. NASA had a run-in with this a few times and it cost them dearly.

    But as for precision, it matters not.
     
  13. Whirlybird

    Whirlybird New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Bolingbrook, IL (near Chicago)
    We've been converting since I was in grade school in the 60's :yikes:
     
  14. breeze400

    breeze400 Spagetti Pilot

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Truck Driver
    Location:
    Alden, NY.
    Two times that! Lol.
     
  15. heli-maniac

    heli-maniac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the ds 610s and ds 620 are on there way mailed them today
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37,167
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I agree with this 100%. Back on topic!

    Awesome bro. Did you include the dampers and brass sleeves as well as the servo horns or do I need to order these?
     
  17. heli-maniac

    heli-maniac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no like i said i kept the dampers dont know if my new servos will have them if they do ill send them along with the aluminum servo wheels
    they are coming with the plastic servo horns that came in the kit i think there is 3 of each and all the screws
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  18. breeze400

    breeze400 Spagetti Pilot

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Truck Driver
    Location:
    Alden, NY.
    Servos come with the accessories. Unless you bought used ones. Still they should come with the mounting hard where! I have never bought new servos that didn't!
     
  19. heli-maniac

    heli-maniac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the one i bought are new out of a 700 nitro kit so im not sure if they will but if they do ill be sending them to Tony along with the aluminum servos wheels that i got with the servos
    thats just one more thing im donating
     
  20. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    37,167
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Okay cool. I didn't know if you received the new servos yet or not. I have new balls with nuts on the way for the horns so that's not much of an issue. I just know with the vibration these put out, I don't want to run the servos without the dampers. I may have some, I just can't find them lmao. I'm sure they are cheap though.

    Jesse, thanks for all that you have and are doing for this build. So far everyone that I have shown the heli to have loved it and want to be there on the first flight lol. I can't wait to get this thing in the air.
     
< the new job | Happy Birfday Wolfman76! >

Share This Page