1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Power Supply's Portable power supply

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by deano1, Sep 23, 2013.

< CC Talon 90 program change of initial spool up rate & re-calibration? (TREX 550E) | 40A esc running motors backwards >
  1. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks@Kyle, got the glass in an art shop:)
     


  2. pvolcko

    pvolcko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Nice piece of kit! Good work!
     
  3. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks Paul:)
     
  4. deano1

    deano1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    england rochdale
    Hi grayham that looks great the blue looks fantastic and the case is small i like it. Cml001 another great looking case i love that you can see inside looks cool both great jobs happy flying. :wavey:
     
  5. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks for the help and inspiration Deano:)
     
  6. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Hey Tony,

    I watched the video and was courious if those 2 grounding pins have to still be snapped off and the screw with the installation paper and glue have to be sdne still if your only using 1 power supply only? Thanks.
     
  7. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    If you are only using one supply no you don't have to isolate the Dc ground, if you do want to use two in the future the second one in series has to be floated (dc ground isolated) and you should not use that one on its own,
     
    redwings likes this.
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yup, what he said. Just solder on your bullets, cross the pins and you will be good to go.
     
    redwings likes this.
  9. FlyNmonkeyNutz

    FlyNmonkeyNutz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Production Analysis / Sales
    Location:
    chattanooga
    Hey Tony Thanks for all the help and info on all this and everyone on the forum I did mine a little different..... kinda like an old school reactor box. 2014-04-06 14.02.43.jpg

    Just wanted to say thanks for all the insight! .....

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hey Tony Thanks for all the help and info on all this and everyone on the forum I did mine a little different..... kinda like an old school reactor box. 2014-04-06 14.02.43.jpg

    Just wanted to say thanks for all the insight! .....

    2014-04-06 14.02.43.jpg
     
  10. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Sweet, Thanks for the info SLOBBERDOG.
     
  11. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Ok, this is the power supply that I got (sse photos). Now I have plugged it, got power but nothing shows up on the volt meter. What am i missing? 20140407_150009.jpg 20140407_145950.jpg

    20140407_150009.jpg

    20140407_145950.jpg

    20140407_150009.jpg

    20140407_145950.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2014
  12. FlyNmonkeyNutz

    FlyNmonkeyNutz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Production Analysis / Sales
    Location:
    chattanooga
    It will come on (fan will run) ... you have to connect the pins (or short out the pins in the front to get the juice flowing .... look through the pages on this Forum Post there are a ton of diagrams that can explain it far better than I. I am not sure on the Dell but there are HP Diagrams everywhere and Tony has a great YouTube video on it.
     
  13. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Very cool box:)
     
  14. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    I guess i didn't do that but here is the thing, Its a 24 pins not 9. So which pins do is short out?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Aw :):):):), jsut saw the pics again, Same amount of pins just horizontal compare to vertical. Duh
     
  15. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Hi Redwings

    I have had a look around and it looks like you need this diagram to short the pins,


    N N N N N Y
    N N N N Y N
    N N N Y N N
    N N N N N N

    It's from someone off another forum that's using the same power supply
     
  16. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Aww sweet bro. Dose that diagram slow the fan down as well or would it be the same as the other configuration ON A 12 PIN?

    thanks
     
  17. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Can only find what I put above and no mention of the fan, maybe it does not work like the dps600pb fan
     
  18. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    thanks Just sent you a Pm on the same question. I'll try it, most can happen I could trip my breaker in my power bar I hope.

    - - - Updated - - -

    YA, saw the video only problem is his power supply has 12, pins, mine has 24 pins. Just trying to work out the kinks with another forum member now. Thanks
     
  19. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    If you short the pins as per the diagram I posted you should not have a problem
     
  20. redwings

    redwings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    20140407_150009.jpg

    Tony,

    I have seen your video , bu I have a problem. I have a 24 pin power supply, so which pins would I shot out to get the same results including the fan? See pics for details. Thanks

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks SLOBBERDOG for the advice, Just wondering if the same pin configuration will work on a 24 pin set up. I'll test it and see. What could go wrong.

    N N N N N Y N N N Y N Y
    N N N N Y N N N N N Y N
    N N N Y N N N N N Y N N
    N N N N N N N N N N N N

    20140407_150009.jpg
     
< CC Talon 90 program change of initial spool up rate & re-calibration? (TREX 550E) | 40A esc running motors backwards >

Share This Page