1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Hey Guest, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Quad Building My First Quad

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by bigone5500, Nov 22, 2017.

  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thanks Tony. The stack-x will fit with room to spare.

    I just worked on my XT-60 pigtail. I got the wires soldered on and heat shrink installed. I thought I'd also share how I dispense my solder. It's a small medicine bottle with a small hole in the lid. I took the solder and wound it around a pencil and pulled the end from the center. Works great.

    20180111_171025.jpg 20180111_171611.jpg 20180111_171834.jpg
     


  2. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Also to note. When I install the heat shrink, I like to get the diameter that will fit into the recess and push it into it a little. Maybe it's being a little obsessive but at least I know it will not short out.
     
  3. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Something to note on the Eachine Stack-X F4. If you want the current meter to work, you have to download the custom firmware from the banggood website. OR you can just get it below.

    20180112_093627.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yea I read that. Interesting that it doesn't ship with it...
     
  5. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Got some of the stuff today.

    20180112_114415.jpg
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You are going to love that charger!
     
  7. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Got my motors today. They look good but I hope they work well.

    20180112_181310.jpg
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Are we replacing our G's with H's now? hahahahaha
     
  9. FlyByKnight22

    FlyByKnight22 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Master Chief United States Navy (retired)
    Location:
    Slidell Louisiana
    :) a man after my own heart,..

    A man that wants to know everything!

    Wishing you great success on your new build.

    In the middle of mine and struggling.

    Best Regards,
    FlyByKnight22
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    He has gotten along quite well with this build. In fact, I'm about to start a build using the same stack that he has, except I'm going to have to modify mine to get it in a much tighter frame. That is the plan anyway lol.
     
    FlyByKnight22 likes this.
  11. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    It's a wild ride for sure. I made some progress tonight. I'm test fitting everything to see what it looks like. I got a new frame today and am not sure which I will use.

    20180112_221521.jpg 1515817126310774922384.jpg
     
    FlyByKnight22 likes this.
  12. FlyByKnight22

    FlyByKnight22 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Master Chief United States Navy (retired)
    Location:
    Slidell Louisiana
    Looks good to me Biggin!

    I like the looks of those three blade props, always been a fan of them even on fixed wing aircraft because of their torque.

    My frame looks similar to your 2nd photo, it’s a ZMR-250 class sized racing quad. I’m using 3-Blade Dal cyclone 5045’s to start with, that is if I can get the FC board up and running :p

    I’m finished with putting it all together but struggling tying to get the flight controller to talk to my TX.

    If I can’t get it sorted out soon, I’m considering a different FC board and that probably means 4 new ESC’s also as my FC board is an all in one ESC/FC board.

    Looking forward to seeing your finished quad and maiden flight.

    Best Regards,
    FlyByKnight
     
  13. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I worked a little bit on the stack. In order to use it with a DSMX Rx, you have to bridge two pads on the FC. By default, the wrong two pads are bridged. I had to desolder them and apply solder to the correct ones. If anyone plans to do this type of soldering, I recommend having some fine solder wick, isopropyl alcohol (90+%), and some flux (I use RMA-218). You also need to use a fine tip on your iron. I used the wick to remove the existing solder then cleaned the pads with alcohol. I then used the end of a swab (no cotton) to apply a very small amount of flux to the appropriate pads. Then carefully I placed a small ball of solder to them and worked it until they bridged. I can't half see so I had to employ my big ol' magnifying glass.

    Before I go any further, I need to plan out my build. I need to figure out where I'm going to mount my Rx and how I'm going to secure the VTX (two standoffs have components in the way).

    Here is the result.

    20180113_221158.jpg 20180113_222127.jpg
     
    FlyByKnight22 likes this.
  14. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    To connect my DSMX Rx I will need to use this 3v connection right?

    20180114_110802.jpg
     
    FlyByKnight22 likes this.
  15. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That is correct sir! If you don't like all of the magic smoke in your satellite, you can keep it connected to the 5v port :biglaugh:
     
  16. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yeah, them 'lectrons are chain smokers.
     
  17. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Is it personal preference what side you solder the battery leads to? I like the bottom pads. They look to be the best choice in my opinion. But it may be better to have them soldered to the same side as the leads for the FC.

    20180114_111423.jpg 20180114_111442.jpg
     
  18. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm pretty sure that part doesnt' matter. That board has 4 different layers, but both sides of those pads should connect just to the VCC pad and not the other pads. So I would think you can put it anywhere on those pads. The gold runs all the way around just like on the ESC's.
     
  19. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ladies and gentlemen, we are bound.

    20180114_125024.jpg
     
  20. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ok. I need to know if there is anything I need to set up in BetaFlight before I solder my motors.

    Under Power & Battery, how do I set up these settings?
     

Share This Page