1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Quad Building My First Quad

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by bigone5500, Nov 22, 2017.

< Emax Babyhawk | Nicked Blade...ok? >
  1. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The only real thing you need to do is to set your satellite under the config tab to 2048 (they say 1024, but even mine went nuts. Set it to 2048). Make sure serial Rx is turned on under ports on uart 3 and you should be golden.

    wire your motors nice and purdy! Straight wires. with these ESC's, you can reverse them in the BLHeli Suit or whatever it is called. I had to reverse every single one of mine lmao.
     
  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hope you have better luck with yours. Mine is unflyable.
     
  3. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Why's that? what's wrong?
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Everything...... Let me know how your maiden goes...
     
  5. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    What needs to be done in my Tx to make this thing work? I got the motors soldered on and can make them turn in betaflight. They turn the right way but I can't get the Tx to do its job.
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    make sure in the config menu that you are on 2048 on the receiver. Then go into the Receiver menu and set it to TAER1234. That should be all you need to do.
     
  7. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ok. I will check it tomorrow. I've put it down for the night.
     
  8. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I couldn't help myself. I have checked those two settings and they are like you say. I have the motor protocol set to DSHOT 600. Should I have anything in the Modes tab set?
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, you need at least an arm setting. Otherwise the motors will never spin.
     
  10. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Please advise. I'm dumb...
     
  11. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Just because you own a Samsung smartphone... it doesn't make you dumb...

    .... just ignorant ( ie haven't learned yet ).

    LMAO
     
  12. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I saw a video saying you have to use mixing to get it to work. It's over my head right now. (not the quad)
     
    FlyByKnight22 likes this.
  13. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    At least when my heli parts get here, I know it will fly. At least for a little bit.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You should have a switch that is setup on Aux1. In your receiver tab, find out what moves Aux1 and if you need to, assign it to the switch you want. Once you have that, then go back into the modes tab and the top one is ARM. Select Aux1, put the switch where you want it to be armed, and set the slider where the orange bar is lining up with the little tab. Hope that makes sense.
     
  15. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    It did. I will have to play around with it more to learn it. Just gonna take some time. Lots of time.
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Take a video of what it is or isn't doing and post it up. Then i will know what it is doing or not doing.
     
  17. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Will do...tomorrow.

    Thanks!
     
  18. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Well I got my goggles today. I also got 3 of my 5 batteries I ordered. I'll get the goggles fired up and see if I can get my camera to work. I also have to get some info to post here to see if I can get my motors to spin up. I can make them spin with betaflight on the slider but the Tx will not do its job. I'm noob supreme so that is the major factor in why it's not working.
     
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What a coinkydink, this site was created for noob supreme's!!!! :biglaugh:

    Like I said last night, take a quick video so that I can see what is going on. If you want to do a skype or hangouts thing for some 1:1, I can make time for that as well since you are a supporter and a patron!
     
  20. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Man I think 1:1 ratio of support is right on par for me. Hangouts is probably the best thing for me. I don't have skype.

    @Tony Did your VTX get hot? Mine got up to 140F. I unplugged the battery so I didn't fry it. The camera works though but my goggles had 'BADRX' on the screen.
     
< Emax Babyhawk | Nicked Blade...ok? >

Share This Page