copter, plane noob here

gravybird

hello, I'm new to the rc world, bought my first 3 channel copter in the mall two years ago, flew it until it melted:), than just recently got a "Blade MCX", and a "super cub" trainer plane (foam), and in three weeks have replaced almost every component on it. Really looking forward to moving up through the helicopters, next one to be a collective pitch.

Tony

Staff member
Welcome to the site gravybird, glad to have you here. If I may, I would suggest a 4ch fixed pitch helicopter as your next one. it will be a much easier transition into forward flight (FF) than having to learn that, and everything else that comes with a CCPM helicopter. However, if you are set on jumping into the collective pitch world, Like I did lol, we are here to help you every step of the way.

The best lesson I can give you is move along at your own pace. don't let anyone tell you to use two packs, then move on. If your not ready, your not ready. However, that is a double edged sword. Once you get into hovering, you will not want to do FF after your first crash. But sometimes there comes a point where you have to move out of your comfort zone, and push yourself a little.

And if you don't have one, get a simulator. It will save you thousands in repairs. again, welcome to the site.

gravybird

Ok thanks for the info:) I have been eyeballing the blade sr rtf, it says it's a good transition from fixed pitch to collective. Now I'm a little confused. What do you mean by forward flight on a fixed pitch? I also heed your advice on a simulator, after watching the crash videos on here instead the YouTube videos with experienced pilots is a wake up call to me. I know nothing. :)

Tony

Staff member