1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

ESC Spirit Pro Hobbywing Esc Setup

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Harford, May 10, 2018.

< Servo Mods | Portable System >
  1. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I have told my wife about this rather significant oversight and that the answer is more regular building experience...

    Weather permitting, hopefully Sunday. Will of course report back on how it goes. It will be first experience with a 700 size heli which is a little intimidating.

    My next project after this is to finally get to grips with the Spirit stabilisation/rescue capabilities - something I never completed after the excellent guidance from you and Heliman last year
     


  2. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    Yes, more new heli building required!

    Setting up stability/rescue is much easier with the latest firmware. You now have the ability to assign a dedicated channel to turn 'stabi' function on and off (this needs a spare channel so a 7 channel or better Tx). This is a lot easier than the old way where you had to make the gyro gain go to a negative value.
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If that works with your wife, please have your wife call my wife and explain just how important building new helicopters is!!!

    Oh, and we need video of the maiden... Forum Rules :rules: :jk: :chuckles:
     
  4. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    That is good to hear. I never grasped the negative gyro gain value concept.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You mean Rate mode? I keep a switch position set to Rate so that when I set the helicopter on the ground, I can flip to Rate then back to HH mode and it will center my tail blades and keep the heli from swinging around on spool up.
     
  6. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Tony - I have to concede my wife is very accommodating when it comes to my various resource draining hobbies.

    Funny you should say that about the video. The onlt time I have managed this is to have someone else filming while I am flying but I am sure I read about a head mounted camera set up. Do you have any suggestions ? (I don't have a GoPro)
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you have a tripod mount on the bottom of a camera, and a 1/4" 20 bolt and nut and an old hat, you can make a makeshift hat mount. Just drill a hole, put the bolt in there and screw on the camera. However, I'm sure if it is a big camera weight would be an issue.
     
  8. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    No, I don't mean HH versus Rate. I am familiar with this and have a switch to move between the two. The negative gyro gain value relates to the Stabilisation/Rescue set up in the Spirit FBL System
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ah, sorry about that. Never had one in my hands so didn't know.
     
  10. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    If I am to self film, I will need new gear as don't have anything suitable.
     
  11. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Don't worry, I have got a couple in my hands and don't know either !
    Anyway, it is another project..
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    lol. Right on.
     
  13. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Trex 700 setup complete so maiden programmed for Friday morning (weather permitting).

    I do have an issue though in that I cannot see the telemetry data displayed on the DX9 screen.

    The Spirit notes say that you need to select the option 'ESC Status' (using the roller while on the main screen). I do not have this option.

    I have connected the SPM4649T using the Jeti integration cable as instructed.

    I have configured in the Tx under the Telemetry option 1. ESC 2. Text Gen

    I have connected the HW ESC PlatV4 using the Telem UNI cable from the P socket to the Spirit primary satellite port and in the Advanced/Telementry settings in the Spirit software I have set the Hobbywing Platinum V4 option.

    I have obviously missed something so any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  14. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    Did you bind the SPM4649T using a bind plug?
     
  15. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I did. But I bound the SPM4649T and the Spektrum satellite separately as I had issues initially getting the satellite to bind ie I had to bind the satellite using the primary port on the FBL and then move it to the port as the primary port is required for telemetry connection.
    Hope this makes sense
    Many thanks
     
  16. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    have you gone through the the online guide: Spektrum Integration - Spirit System Manual

    Particularly, you need to select 'ESC' and 'Text gen' in the Tx telemetry menu. You also need the latest Spektrum Airware for the integration functionality.
     
  17. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I will go through the manual again but I do have the correct settings in the DX9 Telemetry menu.
    Unsure about the Spektrum airfare though ? I have updated the firmware on the DX9 to version 1.21. Is this the same thing ?
     
  18. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    The other thing I am unsure about is the reference to flashing boot loader. I am using Spirit firmware version 2.4.3
     
  19. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    Airware is just Spektrum’s name for firmware.
    Boot loader flashing is only required for older Spirits if the SPM4649t gets stuck in bind mode
     
  20. Harford

    Harford I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Semi-Retired
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ok, thanks. I will keep working on it.
     
< Servo Mods | Portable System >

Share This Page