1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Power Supply's server power supply conversion

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by studio398, Feb 8, 2015.

< NiMh charging | New Parallel Charging System >
  1. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    hi. i just watched a video on youtube of how to take 2 hp server power supplies and convert them to a 25 volt power supply for charging rc batteries. they were hp dps-600pb b. the vid said there was a write up on the rc-help forum, with pictures. would some one kindly provide a link to this write up?

    thank you,

    pat
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
  3. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    Tony, i received my PSU's and took a close look at them. they are not what was described in the ebay auction, and didn't match the pictures in the auction either. i may have to return them. but, i still may be able to use them. i wanted to run this by you to see if you know whether or not these would work. in your vid, it shows an HP DPS-600PB B. the P/N is 321632-501, GP/N is 367238-501 and the spare number is 406393-001. it also says switching power supply.

    on mine it is an HP DPS-600PB B. the P/N is 321632-001, GP/N is 367238-001 and the spare number is 338022-001. it does not say switching power supply. so, the P/N, GP/N, and the spare number are slightly different, and does not say switching power supply. however, it is still a model # DPS-600PB B.

    Do you happen to know if these will work for the conversion? i didn't want to take them apart until i knew for sure.

    thanks,
    pat
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can you post some good pictures of the pins as well as the inside where the fuses are that you need to break on one of them? If you don't want to take it apart, that's fine, I will just look at the pins.
     
  5. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    sure, give me a little time, and i will post them up.
     
  6. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    sure, give me a little time, and i will post them up.

    - - - Updated - - -

    ok, first attempt at pics here. hope they came through.

    first pic are fuses needed breaking / nipping
    nest is ground screw that needs to be removed and insulated
    then the pins
    finally the label on PSU

    thanks
    pat


    IMG_0968.JPG

    IMG_0969.JPG

    IMG_0970.JPG

    IMG_0972.JPG

    IMG_0968.JPG

    IMG_0969.JPG

    IMG_0970.JPG

    IMG_0972.JPG
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Okay, everything looks the same from that PSU and the ones that I have. So test them out. Jump pin 6 8 and 10 with the 120v cable plugged in and see if the PSU turns on. If it does, check the voltage across the large positive and negative posts. It should read 12 volts, or a little higher. Once you verify the voltage, I'm sure you are going to be tired of listening to this thing (it's loud at full speed), so jump pin 4 to pin 8 and the fan should quiet down.

    If all of that works out, I would say it should be fine. Below is a diagram of what pins to jump and where. Let me know if this works.

    Pin Short.jpg

    Pin Short.jpg
     
  8. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    thank you very much for your help, Tony. i will test it this weekend and report back. we have a blizzard / nor'easter coming in tomorrow (18"-24" of snow) that will keep me tied up for a few days, and hopefully we won't lose power. yeah, on the 12v out terminals, and for the series connection making 24v, i was planning on using 8 gauge wire. thanks again, and i will report back.

    pat
     
  9. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    so, i ran a quick test this morning, regarding the HP DPS-600PB B with slightly different P/N's. these are my findings:

    1. i applied 120v to the main and it powered up, but it was not displaying any voltage across the 12v out terminals. fan wasn't too loud.
    2. i shorted out pins 6, 8, and 10 together. the fan was louder. there was 12.49 volts across the 12v out terminals.
    3. i shorted out pin 4 to 6, 8, and 10. the fan was noticeably more quiet. there was still 12.49 volts across the 12v out terminals.
    4. as you can see in the photos below, the pins being shorted together, and the voltage reading.

    i can only assume these must be good results.

    pat



    IMG_0973.JPG


    IMG_0976.JPG

    IMG_0973.JPG

    IMG_0976.JPG
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yup, that is good. I'm guessing the "non switching" means the fan will run any time the PSU has wall outlet power. Shorting teh pins kicks everything on. I'm just guessing here, I can't remember if mine ran teh fan without shorting the pins.

    From here, if it were me, I would kill the ground on one of the PSU's (as shown in the video and article), short the pins as I did (I just bent all of the pins (4 6 8 10) together and soldered them, can't remember if I showed this in teh video or not) and do your series wiring. Once that is done, before you touch the cases, put your voltage meter on AC and put one lead on one PSU case, and the other lead on teh other psu case. If you see any reading, there is a ground short and could be very dangerous. This is going ot be AC current so it's going to hurt if it bites you. Use extreme caution.

    But that is what I would do. I would also see if you can find some large heat shrink and wrap the cases in it so that just in case something goes south, you are protected from the current. Again, just another safety measure.
     
  11. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    thanks again, Tony. i will proceed and report back
     
  12. studio398

    studio398 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    just an quick update on my project. following the exact instructions on coolgabsi's write up and Tony's video, i successfully isolated the DC ground from the AC / chassis ground. sounds like the instructions work perfectly for this HP model with different P/N. more to follow...

    pat
     
  13. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Cool deal bro! Now, to get teh charger powered up with them and do a full amp charge!!! That's one of the first things I did lol.
     
  14. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,000
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    I am about a heart beat away from buying my charger and the rest of the misc charing hardware to get mine to 90% complete. I am still pondering on it right now. $250 is a lot of cash to get it to 90% complete, but it will be functional.

    Yeah get that on full amp charge rate and watch your charge times drop.

    Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner
     
  15. Kevin W. Ray

    Kevin W. Ray New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pressman Harris 1650
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD
    I did the power supply conversion the work great! Thank you for the information!

    Kevin W. Ray
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hey Kevin, it's my pleasure. I love this setup. Cheap, clean power and works fantastic! And I have punished mine lol.
     
  17. Kevin W. Ray

    Kevin W. Ray New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pressman Harris 1650
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD
    Now I just need a 1000 watt charger1
     
  18. Kevin W. Ray

    Kevin W. Ray New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pressman Harris 1650
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD
    I bent the pins and soldered them together worked great!
     
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yup, that is the cleanest way to do it as long as you do not want the option to flip the fan manually from high speed to slow and just let the temp sensor inside to do it.
     
  20. Kevin W. Ray

    Kevin W. Ray New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pressman Harris 1650
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD
    What is a good 1000 watt charger Hyperion 8 cell charger?
    Hyperion EOS 0840I Multi-Chemistry DC Battery Charger (8S/40A/1000W)?

    Or

    Cellpro PowerLab 8 v2 DC Battery Workstation (8S/40A/1344W) by Revolectrix?

    Any options you would recommend?

    Thank you!



     
< NiMh charging | New Parallel Charging System >

Share This Page