1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Hey Guest, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

DIY Quad Build 2.0

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by bigone5500, Feb 11, 2018.

  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    So I'm working on my second quad. I am trying to build this one as cheap as possible. I have the frame, motors and a few props. I need a FC, PDB (or 4n1 ESC), camera with VTX, antenna, etc...

    I think I know what camera I'll use. But I may get it and swap it on my 6" quad. I have the eachine camera and DVR board which came with the stack-x. I want to get the runcam split 2 and put it on that quad then put the eachine on the new one. I'm currently researching FC brands right now and don't know exactly what I'll get. I do like the DYS F4 Pro V2.



    I'll probably get the matching 30A 4in1 to go with it if I choose that one.



    The only downside to using a 4in1 is I'll have to extend all motor leads. They have the little pigtails about 2" long. I like the DYS Fire motors I bought. They had about 6" of leads.
     


  2. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    @Tony I verified it has the MPU-6000.
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I hate it when a seller only shows one side of the FC. No where in those pictures can I see the plug that plugs directly into the ESC board.
     
  4. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    From what I can see, and what I have researched, there are two versions of this board (obviously from the v2). There was one with an 8 pin header and now this one which has a cable that attaches directly to the ESC. I will try to find some definite photos and post them.
     
  5. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Here is the ESC. It has the connector which terminates to wire ends. The wires are soldered onto the FC. That is as much as I can gather from it. There are a row of 14 pads opposite the battery connection on the FC. This is where the wires will be soldered. It would be nice if they would sell this with the matching connector type so installation is simple and easy.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I was hoping you could keep from soldering and just plug it into that header on the ESC. Way easier lol. But I guess they are worried about vibrations and such.
     
  7. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Never tried it. You will still need a vtx though.
     
  9. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I got my eye on a cheap one. Not sure how it performs though.
     

Share This Page