Trucks Need Help With Traxxas Revo 2.5R

Newbie-31

Hello there! I'm working on my Revo, and I'm just trying to get the kinks worked out. I pull the starter and it starts up just fine but when I remove the ignited it bucks and dies yanking very hard on my pull starter. Can anyone help me?

- - - Updated - - -

And It's a brand new glow plug.

Tony

Staff member
To me, this sounds like a bad glow plug. I know you say it's new, but I have seen new plugs that are bad. Another thing could be lack of compression. Spin the engine over by hand and make sure you are getting a good POP when it comes over the compression stroke. But first, go out and get another good plug just to rule it out.

Newbie-31

Alright, I have one and I'll try it out.. thanks. Another thing Is the my drive gears don't touch.. I got my cars in a trade from a friend so I'm new to it but i deal with cars and atvs so I'm not a bad mechanic. Just curious if he put the wrong gears on or if I did something wrong when i mounted the motor on. Thanks for the help!

Tony

Staff member
Um, if you could, explain in a little more detail, or better yet post pics of the "drive gear". You have the pinion, spur, transmission gears, and front and rear Diffs with gears in them. Let me know what gear you are referring to and I will help out.

Tony

Staff member
You can take a pic and put it on your computer. There is a picture of what looks like a tree just above the reply box, it's the 4th from the right. Click on that, find the pic on yoru computer and hit upload. Just make sure it's not too big or the program will reject it.

If you are talking about the clutchbell/pinion, then there are 4 bolts that hold the engine mount to the chassis. You will loosen these up and slide the engine over. Make sure you have a slight gap in your gear mesh all the way around the spur gear (large gear). the gap should be about .5mm when set correctly.

Tony

Staff member