1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Chargers My Charger :)

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Graham Lawrie, Jan 3, 2014.

< 8.4V direct to HV servos and Ikon | 45 A YEP second one? >
  1. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    I am missing something here?

    I have 4 separate wires each coming off 4 6 8 & 10.
    I have 8 and 4 linked together which now I think is wrong?
    My switches have light + and earth. The switches are on off with a light on the tip.

    Which wire goes where?

    Both 12v and 24v side PSU are identical.
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There is no power doing through the pins. They are only jumpers. 4, 6, and 10 need to be shorted to pin 8 for the psu to come on and for the fans to quiet down. Unfortunately, there is no way to light up that light on your switch with just the pins.
     
  3. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    So. Join all the pin wires together?

    Power up the switch with separate wires from the + -?
     
  4. cml001

    cml001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Augusta GA
    My switch lights up of the pins... Lights up w the switch in the off position and light off when in the on position.. Have to use jumpers but it lights up.

    - - - Updated - - -

    So does Deano's..
     
  5. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I don't know if I would run a jumper to power that light on the switch. That could put more load on the negative pin (8) than it can handle. I would just put a regular switch on those pins, then maybe a small LED that is connected to the ouputs of each psu (12vDC) to show that it's on.
     
  7. cml001

    cml001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Augusta GA
    Not sure guys, I do kno I had to use a jumper just to get the on/off function of the switch to work... My switch had 5 prongs... 3 for the switch and 2 additional for the LEDs.. Now every box I have seen has different switches... Urs look identical to Deano's tho... I kno he had to use a jumper as well.. Scroll back & look at his pics... It'll work.
     
  8. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Well thanks to Kev:) I made a big leap in my charger today:)

    The strange thing was my switch has 3 poles, ground, live, light. I had 6 & 10 on live and 4 & 8 on ground, and the light on my toggle switch lit up?

    I then swapped the ground to light, and the charger worked as it should but no light on the toggle switch?

    Any way, it works, and I got voltage:) So now all I have to do is fit the poles and tidy everything up, remove the protective wrap on the Perspex.

    Final video after that, then on to the next project:)
     
  9. cml001

    cml001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Augusta GA
    Well like I said on mine (& Deano's) the led switch light is only one if switched to the off position... It took awhile tinker'n with it to figure it out too.. But if ur light'n the fire rock with it.. I'm not an electrical person by any means..
     
  10. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    A small update:)

    I have got the switches working as per Deno,s excellent diagrams:) The only thing I don't like is the led light is on from the start till you flick the switch to get power and it goes off:)
    Anyhoo, I am uploading a small video which I will post:) just got to fit two poles when they arrive, then tidy everything up and she is good to go:)

    Thanks to everyone on here who has made this possible for me, without your help I never would have got there:) YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE:)

    I will post a final video when it is all done:)

    - - - Updated - - -

    A small update:)

    I have got the switches working as per Deno,s excellent diagrams:) The only thing I don't like is the led light is on from the start till you flick the switch to get power and it goes off:)
    Anyhoo, I am uploading a small video which I will post:) just got to fit two poles when they arrive, then tidy everything up and she is good to go:)

    Thanks to everyone on here who has made this possible for me, without your help I never would have got there:) YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE:)

    I will post a final video when it is all done:)
     
  11. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
  12. deano1

    deano1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    england rochdale
    Hi Graham I have been that busy never seen yours she's looking great can't wait to see her finished.
     
  13. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks Deano. Your help was awesome, diagrams were great. Just waiting for pole connectors and it will be finished:) Hopefully in the post tomorrow:) Ian a5 Coolice has a great add on that I might do:)
     
  14. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    TADA:)

    I Have finished my power supply :notworthy:

    Without the people on here it would not have been possible:)

    I am uploading to the tube place of much slowness:( soon you will see it :) a wee video:)

    I am going to use an old 600 swashplate as the handle for opening the flap to access tools and balance boards etc:)

    WATCH THIS SPACE VIDEO SOON:)
     
  15. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That thing turned out great Graham! Now, put 6 batteries on that thing in parallel and crank that charger up to 30 amps. I want to see this!!!
     
  17. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks Tony:) I haven't got 6 batteries the same:) I am reading the manual for the 306B now to see if I can connect different batteries, which I don't think I can.

    I have enough for my 450 but it wont push the charger. I have to change some battery connections so mine are all the same:)
     
  18. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Nice job Graham, looks well done!
     
  19. Lee

    Lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,489
    Likes Received:
    399
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Extreme Sports Instructor
    Location:
    Tarifa Spain (UK)
    Graham, that looks amazing.
    Can't wait to get mine put together.
     
  20. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks Lee:) playing with it today:) Love the set up, so much room in the box:) I can fit masses in it. Been kitting it out today and using the 306b to check resistance in my batteries:( some in a bad way.
    Doing storage charges on all of them now:)
     
< 8.4V direct to HV servos and Ikon | 45 A YEP second one? >

Share This Page