1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Chargers My Charger :)

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Graham Lawrie, Jan 3, 2014.

< 8.4V direct to HV servos and Ikon | 45 A YEP second one? >
  1. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    You put two bullets on all of your outputs is what I was getting at, I only put one on mine.
     


  2. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    OK have you looked at the pictures I just put on Kev?
     
  3. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Not sure how it will work with it connected that way, if you only wanted the 12v side on, so can't say much,

    the way I have it you can run 12v or 24v or both, and it's only a little extra wiring and a second set of poles.
     
  4. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    I still have the second set of poles to fit:)

    Next question: on the pins at the back do you do the same on both PSU,s ie 4 wires from each?
     
  5. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Yes you do the same for both
     
  6. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Glad you said that:) I already have. Will post up the pics

    - - - Updated - - -

    20140202_150803.jpg

    Switch wires correcr I hope:)

    20140202_150803.jpg
     
  7. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Just had a thought today!!

    When putting two bullet connectors in place, should they be separated from each other(insulated) and not touching???
     
  8. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    OK I MIGHT HAVE HAD A EUREKA MOMENT?????

    Can anyone tell me if the 12 pins on the back of the PSU just need jumpers? I think I remember Tony,s video mentioning this?

    If this is the case, then it is as I said, I have been over thinking this build!!

    And if I am right, then I know how to complete my charger:)

    I have looked at Kevs and other builds and confused the heck out of myself, trying to put two + two and getting 3.14???

    If someone could let me know, that would be great:)
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, you will only jump 4 of hte pins though, 3 are required, the 4th is to slow the fans down so it doesn't sound like there is a 747 in your house lmao.

    You will jump the wires as shown in the diagram below. I just bent the 3 outside wires to the center wire and soldered them together. If you want a switch, you will run one switch from 8 to the switch, then two wires from the other side of the switch to 6 and 10. If you want to be able to adjust your fans, you can put a switch from 8 to 4. This will allow you to kick the fans on high if you want. You may be able to put a rheostat on there and adjust them infinitely.

    Pin Short.jpg

    Pin Short.jpg
     
  10. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Bang goes the eureka moment:(

    So both switches go to number 8 pin and the other two wires to 6 & 10 on both PSU,s?

    What are the functions of 6,8,& 10?

    I have switches to fit, so where do I short 4 to?
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2014
  11. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, but I would NOT connect both grounds of both PSU's together. I would run a switch for EACH PSU for safety sake.
     
  12. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Thanks Tony:) It will be two separate switches:)
     
  13. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    6 is PSKill and 10 is PSOn. I have no idea why PSKill has to be jumped to ground, but it does.

    pin 4 will short to pin 8. This will slow the fans down and make them quiet. Trust me, you will want to do this. Again, you can put a switch here so you can shut the switch off (open the circuit) and it will kick the fans on high.
     
  14. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    I think the reason for it being ground is to do with the DC circuit ?? But I might be wrong:)
     
  15. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That would be a Gaba (Mr. Electrical Engineer) question lol. I'm not sure myself.
     
  16. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    It's probably something to do with it being a safety circuit.
    While the motherboard is controlling it the fan does what it is told, the PSU knows all is well.
    If something goes bad and it goes open circuit the fans go in to panic mode and scream at top speed.
     
  17. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    Is that jumped to the ground on the switch?
     
  18. Slobberdog

    Slobberdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wales
    Graham, pson and pskill go together on one side of the switch then the ground and the fan goes on the second, I think you on your switch will need a wire from the pson pskill side to the third leg for your led, can you put up a pic of the back of your switch, so we can see it.
     
  19. Graham Lawrie

    Graham Lawrie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineering Manager
    Location:
    Kinlochleven
    20140208_102130.jpg
    Here you go Kev.
    + light and earth.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Earth is bottom right:)

    20140208_102130.jpg
     
  20. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, 4, 6, 10 will all go to pin 8.
     
< 8.4V direct to HV servos and Ikon | 45 A YEP second one? >

Share This Page