1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Other FlySky FS-TH9X-B (FS-CT9B) 2.4G 9CH Radio System

Discussion in 'Transmitters & Receivers' started by cherokee-T, Mar 4, 2014.

< Flysky Fs Th9x Vs Flysky I6x | Blade 330x Ar636a >
  1. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    i'm new to transmiter upgrades i have the FlySky FS-TH9X-B (FS-CT9B) 2.4G 9CH Radio System can any body lead me in the wright direction of installing a new module and receiver that would be a good upgrade for that transmitter any help would be appreciated
     
  2. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Well its not hard and not easy at the same time.

    First remove the old module (do not pull on it).

    Open the case and de-soldier the antenna from the circuit board.

    pull out wire from module and close it up.

    Now at this point you should be able to plug in a new module, but you may need to push the old wire into the case.

    If you want to you could remove the old antenna all the way. Open the case and undo the screw from the antenna and pull it out.

    If you look for West's youtube channel I think he shows how to do this mod. Also its on RC Model Review channel on youtube.
     
    cherokee-T likes this.
  3. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    i have the transmitter that the module doesn't have the wire attached to it ( fs-ct9b ) the transmitter comes with the flysky module i wanted to put a better module in it and i need some help deciding what would be a good choice for the transmitter.and when you put another module in the transmitter do you have to install any software or are they plug and play like i said don't know to much on the electronics side of the hobbie trying to learn .
     
  4. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    I have the frSky module and it was plug and play. Any module that has the same design as the flysky one will work. I can't remember which style it is though.

    I personally like the frSky module but hobby king makes an orange dsm and dsmx version, I don't recommend those.

    My experience comes from the th9x so if yours is not that then you may have different experiences. But the module should be plug and play.

    Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner
     
    cherokee-T likes this.
  5. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    This module is what you want. I had one in my Turnigy 9x which is the same TX rebadged.
    If you intend doing longer range I would also get this receiver as it is telemetry capable.
    The transmitter module will start to beep if you get too far away.

    I now have a Taranis so the module, the 9x and one rx may go up for sale.
    I will keep the receivers and the original TX module though as they are compatible with the Taranis.
    The original TX module binds to my WLToys micro quads and heli's.

    I can also confirm that this mod is plug and play.
    The only thing you may have to do to your existing models is redo your ESC calibration.

    The opentx software available for these transmitters is a huge upgrade as far as customisation is concerned.
    Although it comes with a huge learning curve, it is well worth it for the extra capabilities it adds to an already good tx.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
    cherokee-T likes this.
  6. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    That's what I have now. All I need to do telemetry is the module bank for it. For the screen all I need is the add on for the radio. All in all about 40 bucks.

    My rx is the hv version and it has a rated 1.5 km distance for reception.

    Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner
     
  7. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    now would this be a good receiver
    FrSky X8R 8/16Ch S.BUS ACCST Telemetry Receiver W/Smart Port
    with FrSky DJT 2.4Ghz Combo Pack for JR w/ Telemetry Module & V8FR-II RX
    and how do i redo the ESC calibration appreciate the help.
     
  8. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    The esc you would just redo the end points. Also check and make sure the throttle does not need reversed.

    In some rare cases you may need to reverse the throttle.

    Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner
     
  9. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    The X8r is overkill for your tx unless you intend to upgrade to Taranis at a later date.
    The receiver that comes with the module is fine for anything within visual sight.
    As murankar said, it is good for anything up to 1.5km. (If you can see and control your model at that range well done. :))
    If you have more than one model then the receiver I linked has the telemetry capability.
    When set up correctly it will cause the module in your tx to beep as you near its maximum range so you have an audible range indication.
    You could just get more of the ones that came with the module, they work fine but have no telemetry (feedback) capability.

    As far as ESC calibration goes
    1. Remove blades/props from your aircraft.
    2. Turn on transmitter, move throttle to max. (If you have curves set up, temporarily change to linear throttle curve.)
    3. Carefully plug in battery to your aircraft, wait for beeps. (depends on type of ESC)
    4. Bring throttle to minimum, you will get more beeps. (depends on type of ESC)
    5. Unplug aircraft battery and turn off tx.
    6. Test that it works correctly.
    7. Refit blades/props to your aircraft and fly. (If multirotor, rebalance props.)

    With a multi, you may have to put your flight controller in to some sort of pass through mode or individually hook each ESC to the throttle channel of your receiver and do them one at a a time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  10. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Actually they do have telemetry. What it does do is send telemetry data back to the tx. In order to do this you will need this add on FrSky FSH-01 Telemetry Sensor Hub. This is for the combo pack that is linked first. Now in order to see the data you will need this FrSky FLD-02 Telemetry Display Screen. With the previously linked combo and these two items plus a properly bound rx/tx you can have telemetry system.


    If you dont want to use the hub then the second linked rx is the better option.
     
    cherokee-T likes this.
  11. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    As far as I am aware, and I have both receivers, the V8FR-II does not send back telemetry data according to this.
    I may be wrong but I believe the sensor hub still requires a telemetry capable receiver like the D8R-II PLUS.
    I think where people get confused is that the V8FR-II can still be bound with telemetry capable radios/modules but according to the above link, does not send back telemetry data.
    However if you can prove me wrong please do.
    I would love it if all my receivers could send telemetry data back. :)
     
  12. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
  13. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    Yup I got that too, I think what it means is that if you have both telemetry and non telemetry receivers you can bind them both to the module in telemetry or D mode.
    I guess so you don't have to switch the dip switches all the time when changing models.

    Read 1.3 the bit in blue, it says
    1.3 New feature of V8FR-II over V8FR-HV
    Compatible with all FrSky modules (V8_mode & D_mode), receive only (V8FR-II can talk with module of
    either mode, but it does not send telemetry information back to the transmitter).
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  14. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    what would be wrong about useing the receiver that the module comes with not as strong down the road a bit i would also like to install a telemetry screen to my FlySky FS-TH9X-B (FS-CT9B) 2.4G 9CH Radio System.
     
  15. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    if i use this DHT-U with FrSky D8R-II PLUS 2.4Ghz 8CH Receiver with Telemetery then i wouldn't need a moduel is that correct i'm not sure.
     
  16. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    Absolutely nothing wrong with that, in fact that is what I would suggest as a starting point.
    If you have more than one model, you can get the more featured RXs as you need them.

    DHT-U is a telemetry receiver only. You would still need a DJT module in the TX and you would also need sensors on the aircraft for any information you want to display.
    The D8R-II PLUS can send basic RSSI (receiver strength signal indicator) information back to the DJT module (which would be in the back of your TX).
    The module will beep as you approach maximum range.
    I can't remember if it beeps faster or slower if you get further away.
    This system has helped a friend and I recover a flyaway Naza quad.

    So to recap. To upgrade to Frsky you need a DJT module for your TX.
    This comes with a V8FR-II RX which is more than adequate if you intend to fly line of sight only but has no telemetry.
    The D8R-II PLUS RX is another step up. This has telemetry capability and will send RSSI signal back to the DJT module.
    You can add the DHT-U telemetry receiver and put more sensors on your aircraft at a later date.

    Sorry for the long winded reply but I hope this clears things up a bit for you. :)

    PS, my Taranis can display on screen, any information sent back from the The D8R-II PLUS and also say it if I wish it to. :)


    UPDATE: I may have given you incorrect information, It appears the DHT-U is a full featured TX module as well so your second quote above may be correct. More research required. :)
    I'll be back. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    cherokee-T likes this.
  17. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    so now i don't need to up grade my firmware or nothing when i swap out the tx and the rx correct?
     
  18. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Should not have too. Plug it in and bind.

    Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner
     
    cherokee-T likes this.
  19. DrDiff

    DrDiff New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Forgive me for reviving an old thread, I just got a Flysky TH9X system and I would like to upgrade it to the module from the TH9Xb system. Does anyone know if there is a source for the TH9Xb modules?
     
  20. cherokee-T

    cherokee-T Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    machine opperator
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    DrDiff sorry butt i'm the wrong person to ask i upgraded my Flysky 9x Tx to the smartie parts Board and the Frsky DJT Module Keep looking on the Forums you'll find the answers i found out that you just have to think about i wrote about 5 or 6 threads and know one ever answered them likely figured them out don't give up you will figure it out lots of research.
     
< Flysky Fs Th9x Vs Flysky I6x | Blade 330x Ar636a >

Share This Page