Setups Derek's 1.3ghz FPV Experience

sarconastic

I am no expert on the radio stuff but I will say a wire that moves back and forth repeatedly in while flopping in the wind will eventually fail. The copper inside will break from the back and forth movement, and that will cause to you a ton of radio interference problem and or failures. It may take a while but it will happen.

Woody

Derek

Thanks for the comment, Woody! I have to admit, I have recently been thinking the same thing. However, I just read the comments left by my Youtube subscribers and they all said that I shouldn't have any issues. Several of my subscribers have said that they do it this way...with the antenna trailing behind. One of my subscribers even suggested using one of those plastic antenna tubes, like on rc cars.

Who knows! It may just be ok. I'm gonna wait to see what my RCH brothers have to say about it.

murankar

Staff member
I am going to stick with securing it. Nothing bad comes for it. Wort thing is if you have to front s couple dollars for the tube. An once of prevention beats a pound of cures.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner

Tasajara

You can re-route it if you like. When I used 72mHz I had it just as you did out the end of the wing tip. flying in the breeze. The only difference was I had the RX closer to the center so there was not as much hanging out.
I have also ran them on top of the wing going from left to right in the shape of an "S" multiple times to where you may go back and forth to use most of the ant. wire.
Then let the rest hang out the end. I always taped mine down with 3M storage tape, it is the strongest packing tape and will stick for years. I used this tape on my 150mph flying wings on the elevons.

Derek