500 blade tracking issue.

danhampson

ive been flying my protos for a couple of months now (no crashes, no hard landings). when i fly sometimes the blades will track sometimes they wont, so far i have checked the blade grip bearings (removed, checked, regreased, refitted), the dampeners, checked the contol rods for slop, CG and balanced blades (triple checked), checked the feathering shaft, and all seem to be fine. The only thing that i havent done is change the blades as i only have the one set of 470mm. I do have a set of 425mm but am unsure about trying them as my protos is stretched and the HS set in the gov may be a little on the slow side.
Does anyone have any thoughts on this.

Tony

Staff member
Check your swash bearing. That was my issue on the 450 clone at first. They do wear out unfortunately.

pvolcko

Especially if you have a crash or two. My 550X swash developed some up and down slop after my tip over crash. I'm still running it since it isn't binding and it hasn't gotten any worse, but have spare ready to go in when my skill gets to the point of noticing it or it starts to get worse.

Lee

I have been flying my Warp a lot. Now it has one swash ball link worn out from wear and tear. Things are very much perishable on helis. Just look for any play in the system, from the servos to the head. If you can hold the blades and turn them slightly, try to see at what point the play is coming from. Thats how i just found my damaged ball link not 30 mins ago.

danhampson

cheers lee, ive given the blades a wiggle and the moment is in the swash.
question now is would you guys fly it?

there goes my excuse for new blades.

Last edited:

Lee

So does it look like the swash bearings are going? If it's just a little bit of play and the tracking is just off a touch it should be ok for a while longer. Just keep an eye on it. And once you replace some thing see how it feels new, so you know when its getting bad.
Good luck

danhampson