Spektrum What is DSM2/DSMX?

amastron

I'm new to this all and just bought a DX9 transmitter and was wondering what DSM2 and DSMX means? Just what does the DSMX stand for?
I am told both DSM2 and DSMX receivers will work with my transmitter, how can I tell the difference between them?
This is probably a dumb question to you guys but I would like to know what DSMX stands for. Any help on this is appreciated in deed!

Thanks!

Lee

Its just the evolution of Spektrums Radio Frequency system.
DSM>DSM2>DSMX is the latest
As DSMX is the latest protocol it is backward compatible with DSM2
So as you said your DX9 will work with DSM2 and the most up to date version DSMX receivers
But a DSM2 Radio will not work with a DSMX receiver.

No idea what it stands for though :D

Slobberdog

I believe it's digital spread modulation,

Dsm2 when you turn your receiver on it picks the 2 best channels and uses 1 as primary if it loses signal with the primary it will go to the secondary, f that does not work properly it will shut down,

Dsmx is always looking for a good signal,

You can use a dsmx sat with a dsm2 radio but the sat only uses dsm2 protocols,

D.O.G.

Goblin 380 Supporter
I believe it's digital spread modulation,

Dsm2 when you turn your receiver on it picks the 2 best channels and uses 1 as primary if it loses signal with the primary it will go to the secondary, f that does not work properly it will shut down,

Dsmx is always looking for a good signal,

You can use a dsmx sat with a dsm2 radio but the sat only uses dsm2 protocols,

Thank you slobberdog for that information. I was wondering about the different between the 2 sat my self? Just in case I'm in the market for a sat. So the sat that always looking for signal is better then the one that finds the best two signal or visa verse?

bbj

I made sure my receiver could recognize DSMX sats but was wondering if its better to set them to 11ms or use 22ms. I currently have mine set to 11ms.

Admiral