Boats What battery?

RandyDSok

Your motors will be running in parallel.... so you'd double the capacity ( mah ) you'll need, not the voltage.

Jon Schiff

Your motors will be running in parallel.... so you'd double the capacity ( mah ) you'll need, not the voltage.
So what does that mean? I'm new to RC things. So I don't need to get a battery with a higher voltage? what do I need to get?

RandyDSok

So what does that mean? I'm new to RC things. So I don't need to get a battery with a higher voltage? what do I need to get?

It's not so much just an RC thing... it's a battery thing ( electronics )... which a lot of things use.

Batteries are rated with a few different specs... Primarily voltage and capacity ( mah or milli-amp hour )... mah is sort of like how big the fuel tank is, so think of it as how long it can run, voltage is what pressure it ( the fuel, electricity in this case ) is delivered. Another is amperage which is like what amount of current it has ( the volume of fuel that can be delivered at a time ). Wattage is the amount of power the voltage and amperage can deliver.

So what you get is a battery with the voltage that is recommended for the motor ( s ) and has a high enough capacity ( mah ) so it will run how long you want ( within reason since the weight increased with capacity ) and that can deliver at least as many amps as is needed.

Jon Schiff

It's not so much just an RC thing... it's a battery thing ( electronics )... which a lot of things use.

Batteries are rated with a few different specs... Primarily voltage and capacity ( mah or milli-amp hour )... mah is sort of like how big the fuel tank is, so think of it as how long it can run, voltage is what pressure it ( the fuel, electricity in this case ) is delivered. Another is amperage which is like what amount of current it has ( the volume of fuel that can be delivered at a time ). Wattage is the amount of power the voltage and amperage can deliver.