1. Guest, Thank you for visiting Rc-Help. Please do NOT post tech questions in this section, post them in the Tech section instead. Thank you.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  3. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  4. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Wait, What??! Thank You Windows....

Discussion in 'RC-Help Lounge' started by Tony, Dec 20, 2018.

< Funniest Video In A While | Seasons Greatings >
  1. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    hard to say way you would have been direct to a path like that. Its not normal to type cd /media and be taken to /tmp/media.

    Make sure you used the corect command: should be cd /media not cd media
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,208
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you are in the directory where the directory is located, you can just type the directory name in. If you are in another folder (say /etc/httpd for example) and you wanted to go to the media folder, then you would have to type cd /media. But yea, I'm not sure why it's structured like that. This version does have vi, but I tried installing nano and nothing works, apt-get, nope, yum, nope... It's a weird version of linux, that's for sure.
     
  3. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    If you reference a root folder linux makes you use the / before the name. So if you are at root "/" to go to home you have to use /home in order to mover there. That's linux not sure how ASUS has theirs setup.
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,208
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Weird, that's how lmao. I will have to play with it more to find out what it's all about. And since I'm linus stupid, this is going to take a while lmao.
     
  5. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Once your in home or what ever then you can drop the / and use relative path.
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,208
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just did a quick search on why things are going into a different folder, and according to asus, they are "symbolic" links that take you somewhere else, and are completely normal. Might be "normal" but it's friggin "weird" lmao.

    And even in CentOS, If I'm in a directory (lets say I'm in /etc/httpd) and I want to go to httpd.conf to edit the apache file, I just type in 'nano httpd.conf'. As long as I'm in the directory, I never use a beginning slash. Just the way I have always done it. But if I need to change the lower level directory (be it the root "/", or etc or httpd in this case), then I will use a slash so it knows I want to go to a directory from root, basically giving it a definite path to go to. You know all this, why am I typing it? lmao.
     
  7. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Once your out of the root of the drive you can do relative directory changes. Its when you at the root of the drive that you need to reference /. It hangs me up Every time almost. Ill be at root and want to get to etc or home and sometimes var and I forget it preface / before hand.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,208
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I never use it there either.
     
  9. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    While looking at the various Linux distro's ( still need to check out Fedora )... I was really impressed with where they've gotten to for the general computing releases ( ie not looking at what's up with server directed distro's ). My favorite so far is Linux Mint, it really has the polish needed for a general public release.

    There is still some Samba ( networking ) issues that need addressed. For example, every distro I've tried so far can connect to a Windows share with no problem if you use the command line but trying to map a drive using the GUI's fail connecting to a workgroup windows share. That was about the only complaint I could find.

    I wouldn't have any concern about setting up Linux Mint for anyone... even my Dad whom isn't as computer savvy as he once was.
     
  10. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Mint is a branch of ubuntu so anything on mint can be expected on ubuntu.

    I am currently working with opensuse tumbleweed. Its the rolling distro vs the 6 month development cycle version. I am using Gnome as the desktop.

    Depending on ones needs all the mainstream distros work just fine for everyday use.

    Arch is a very difficult version to get running. Centos as tony knows is a business distro.
     
  11. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Yeah sort of.... On Mint... GTK and QT app/programs has their themes more integrated already and some other areas have also been polished up a bit more than you see out of the box on Ubuntu. On a personal note, I've never been a big fan of Gnome ( aesthetically, technically I don't have an issue ) and really like how Cinnamon feels/looks.... that's likely a carry over from my Windows experience of course.

    Since I was evaluating for general public use, I kept with the long term releases so the look/feel and how things work don't change as much as an advanced user may be able to keep up with. One of the big complaints on Windows is when users that upgrade to a new version is how things are so different and they wished it was like a previous version instead. Of course those complaints don't hang around long with most users either but it's still something to keep in mind if I'm going to recommend something else.
     
  12. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Cinnamon can be added to any of the linuxs if that's what you like. Ever since mint hit the market they have been trying to keep as user friendly as possible.

    I never tried cinnamon myself but in have been aware of it since it started. It was a big deal with Arch users at its beginnings. Nice to see it come along as fast and well as it did.
     
< Funniest Video In A While | Seasons Greatings >

Share This Page