450 Trex 450 FBL and 3GX Setup

Cloudyifr

I am a newbie, okay I've flown a few circuits several years ago with my Trex 450 flybar head. I thought about seeing if I can really learn to fly this thing and converted the head to a Tarot 450 FBL and an Align 3GX Gyro. I've been through all five setup videos, very nicely done by the way. Anyway, I'm all done but something just doesn't seem right. When I go into DIR mode the swashplate is level. But when I just plug the battery in as if I'm going to fly then the swash is pointed forward.
What have I missed, any suggestions where to look?

Thanks
Curtis
Montana

Tony

Staff member
Sounds like you are on either version 3, 4, or 5. Mostly 3 though. My suggestion with the 3GX is to downgrade to version 2.1 and stick with it. And make sure when you plug the battery in that the helicopter is sitting level.

Cloudyifr

Tony, is this the famous Tony in the videos? Cool!

The gyro was purchased used and is on v5.0. The lowest version I see is 3.0, is there somewhere else where I can download version 2.1?

I'll report back with my trials and tribulations.
Thanks
Curtis

- - - Updated - - -

I found 2.1 on your website! Thanks.
Stby for results.
Curtis

Tony

Staff member
Yup, I'm the guy in the videos. But I'm not sure about "famous" lmao. I'm just a dude that likes helping people.

And cool deal that you got it sorted out with 2.1. 5.0 had the swash issue as well as a really bad tail issue. 4.0 had a really bad tail issue, but fixed the swash issue. 3.1 was horrible on the ground and many people had issues with the helicopter tipping over right before take-off causing a blade strike and some damage. 2.1 is the only one that I remember not having any kind of issue. It could sit on the ground and idle without tipping over and when in the air, the tail was predictable.