Still learning throttle management, almost fly-away, unintended flip and recover

Webskipper

So I've only been flying multi-rotors for two months, self taught and flying very low and slow normally, I've had a few higher flights recently, but wasn't planning that on this flight.
I'm going to be reading here about how to properly set my DX8 throttle for this quad to avoid this risky flying in the future.
As they say, do not try this at home....
I took off in my own back yard with the intention of getting about as high as my backyard trees and home. I eventually landed 1 yard over in a very friendly neighbor's back yard after almost losing it into a farther away neighbor's back patio. See the short vid here. All Constructive comments welcome.

I KNOW I should never fly over anyone else's property without permission and I unintentionally did just that. Glad my neighbors are (currently) all very understanding.
BTW, I have exceptional homeowner's insurance... just don't mention this to my agent eh?
[video=youtube_share;HLv_0FbtRog]http://youtu.be/HLv_0FbtRog[/video]

Stambo

Tell us more about the quad, did you calibrate the transmitter before you flew it.
If not, follow the instructions here.
It should make things much easier for you.
You can either use the software or transmitter settings to introduce some expo and dual rate to make things easier while learning to fly.
Enjoy your quad, they are great fun.

Webskipper

Stambo, it's a pretty stock IdeaFly Ifly4 quad, with shortened landing gear (because I landed really hard on one side).
Yah I've read the IFly manual many, many times, and participate in a different IFly forum as well, I just watch some guys take off and land so smoothly and my quad just wants to rocket up and plummet down with the slightest of throttle moves.... like the vid shows. Up 250 ft, over 250 ft in seconds.... Moments the way my heart was pounding.