1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Spektrum Spektrum Dx8e Gen2 Region Selection.

Discussion in 'Transmitters & Receivers' started by Michael Leo, Dec 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Michael Leo

    Michael Leo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipperary. Ireland.
    Hi guy's,
    i recently up graded my radio to a Spek DX8e gen 2... happish enough with the overall package considering it only cost €200 ... lots of options to choose from here but unlike my old DX6i i do not have the option of swicthing from EU too U.S. region on this radio.
    Question : Is there any firm wear option available too achieve this ?? as we all know at this stage that the U.S. power output is greater than the EU.
    At the minute i couldn't chance this radio even for medium distance FPV.

    Best Regards
    Mike.
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    34,442
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Unfortunately there is no option since they region lock the new radios. You might be able to find a firmware package from the US, but I don't know that I would trust it. The region lock could (and probably is) hard coded and not in the firmware.
     
    Michael Leo likes this.
  3. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,314
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    I am fairly certain its hard coded into the radio. I don't think you'll be able to flash new firmware to change it either.
     
    Michael Leo likes this.
  4. Michael Leo

    Michael Leo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipperary. Ireland.
    Big thanks for those replies guy's, I read recently of a chap holidaying in the state from France I think it was and brought along he's radio with him with the intention of getting some air time ...
    As I recall he located a spektrum store and they were able to carry out change in region for him.
    I have dropped spektrum a mail regarding this but no reply so far.
    Thanks again for help, if all else fails may go down the boosting road with my dx8.
    Mike.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    34,442
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yup, if you come over here, you can take your Tx into one of the locations that can program these Tx's and they can do it. I have been doing a little more reading on this, and not only are the files encrypted, but they are also serialized so they are locked to your Tx. Even if someone gave you a file from the US, it would either not work, or it would brick your Tx. So yup, coming over here is about the only option for your Tx, unless you find a seller over here to sell you one and ship it, which I would imagine would be cheaper than a plane ticket lol.
     

Share This Page