1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Hey Guest, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Slow Site

Discussion in 'Site Suggestions' started by super bad, Jan 21, 2018.

  1. super bad

    super bad Resident Smarta$$

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    auto mecahanic
    Location:
    Texas
    Its been super slow to almost not working for the last few days.
    I have cleared everything out of my PC and it is only this site .

    Cant post

    Get The server responded with an error. The error message is in the JavaScript console.
     


  2. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Home Page:
    I visit the site almost daily ( typically morning and evening with occasional visits in the afternoons ).... I haven't had an error recently and the site responds quickly for me.

    I usually use Chrome and I'm running Windows 10 on all of the computers I own. I'll try FF, IE and Edge later... after that I'll make some recommendations but they will be pretty generic since I don't know what OS or browser that is being used.
     
  3. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Home Page:
    Did some test runs using Firefox, Edge and Internet Explorer.... test posts with FF and Edge... no problem with any of those browsers either.

    For any real suggestions.... we need some info to base suggestions on. Which OS ( and version ), which browser and version that is being used.

    Probably would be also good to find out what your internet connection download speed is also.... visit Speedtest by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test to get that... upload speed doesn't matter too much...

    If this is on some version of Windows... open a command prompt with admin rights and test the hard drive for possible errors... at the command prompt type ( no quotes ) "chkdsk /f" ... when asked if you want to run on restart ... answer yes and then restart the computer. After that... again open the command prompt with admin rights and run "sfc /scannow" ... then restart the computer again. That covers the basics for checking for possible corruptions in the file system.

    If you don't already have Malwarebytes installed and updated... do that next. This checks for malware that most other antivirus programs ignore.

    Try using a different web browser than what you normally use.


    I'll check back in later if time permits.
     
  4. super bad

    super bad Resident Smarta$$

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    auto mecahanic
    Location:
    Texas
    Windows 10 Its doing it on FF and IE I have logged out and back in cleared out everything and it still so slow dose not want to load the page
    I check in every day on the things . this started on Friday
    It is Only This site that I am seeing this problem so what ever it is is coming from it
     
  5. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Home Page:
    Well.. it's not the site or everyone including myself would be seeing the same problem... but it could be the route from your ISP to the site...

    Try refreshing the dns.... open a command prompt again... using admin rights and type "ipconfig /flushdns"
     
  6. super bad

    super bad Resident Smarta$$

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    auto mecahanic
    Location:
    Texas
    Well its doing it on my lap top that I use the most.. and on My desk top that I dont use And hasnt been on in months
    it also is w10 with FF and IE. Still no other website i use is having this happen .
    Dosent really matter if every one else is good then it must be ok
    Ill just stay off the site Not like I got anything to say that people want to hear anyway
     
  7. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Home Page:
    It has to be the route from your ISP to wherever the forum is hosted at since both of your systems is affected... which is also why I suggested refreshing the dns info... if your systems have old dns info... updating it could possibly resolve the issue.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    31,863
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This is the first I'm hearing about the site being slow. Have not been on much in the last couple days while getting other things setup. I will look into this. I did a pretty large update to the server on Friday so I will run some server side tests and see if I can figure it out.
     
  9. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I usually wait no longer than a second or so for the site to load. So far no problems for me. Win 8.1 Pro, Google Chrome.
     

Share This Page