1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Servos Reversing Servo

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by grumpy1, Dec 11, 2018.

< Choosing 6s Battery | Rc Logger 40001rc >
  1. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    Anybody reversed internally a tower pro mg90s..i have done others by changing motor wires an relocating wires from pot to board ...but on this one the pot tabs are soldered directly into board with tabs off of pot
     
  2. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,930
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Hey Grumpy1. Not sure what TX you have but have you tried going into servo setup in your TX. Then scroll to reverse setup and then that's where you can reverses your THR, AIL, ELE, RUD, Gear and so on. Hope this might help.
     
  3. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    What I have is 2 servos need one to rotate or stroke CCW an the other to rotate CW using flap channel on radio dx6i :smashfreakB:
     
  4. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,930
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I'm sorry. I misunderstood you. My bad :(.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have not tried it, but the MG90s is cheap enough to test on. If you want, i can test one of mine if you are worried about destroying yours. I have a few of them and can take a chance on killing one. Just let me know, I can try it tomorrow.
     
  6. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    I've reversed some of the mg 90s they have wire between the board an pot an rearrange 2 wires on pot an reverse motor wires that's reversed ..the T P MG90S they have the board directly soldered to pot no wires ..3 tabs on pot soldered directly to 3 holes in board no wire there
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ah, I see what you are saying. The pot is a through hole component rather than with wires. The only thing you can do here is mechanically reverse them. If this were me, I would cut the traces and run jumper wires to reverse it. If you don't want to do that, You can always purchase a servo reverser which does what you are wanting. but, it's a lot more than free like running jumpers lol.
     
  8. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    Good Lord ....you asking the impossible from me ..cant hardly see as is ... no room for servo reversed...have located 2 hs5055mg servos one CW. .one CCW. rotation..thats kinda like going neurosurgery...have hard enough time on one with wires...
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I will see if I can dig one up and so some testing. If I can find an easy way I will make a quick video about it. You do have a soldering iron correct?
     
  10. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    Yeap..got several..need to put tip in lathe an turn an extra fine tip to pin point heat
     
  11. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you can just the heat up that is a great idea, but really thin tips don't hold heat that well and cool off very quick. I"m sure you know this, just posting for future eyes. Let me know what tips you have and I will use one of those tips to test with .
     
  12. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hi Grumpy, Can't help with reversing but when I had a similar problem I got around it by changing one servo arm 180° so that one servo was pushing while the other was pulling, you may have to re-locate one control horn to make it work or bend the push rod.
     
  13. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    unsolder the motor and pull it out of the board and then run jumper wires back to the board.
     
  14. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    Do what now ..how does that reverse servo with out moving contacts from pot to board?
     
  15. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    add your own wires after the motor is removed.
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just an update, I tried looking for one of these servos out in the old studio yesterday and could not find one anywhere. I know I have some but I have no idea where they are. I will keep my eyes open and make a video if/when I actually find one. sorry I didn't post this yesterday.
     
  17. grumpy1

    grumpy1 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    pipe welder. .pipe fitter. .asme code pipe shop fo
    Location:
    hull,ga
    There's gotta be an cost benefit on making those like that
     
  18. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You mean having the pot's leads go through the PCB rather than wires? If so, it is way faster and cheaper to run them that way. Just push through and solder. Easier and faster than having to run 3 separate wires.
     
< Choosing 6s Battery | Rc Logger 40001rc >

Share This Page