1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

General Racestar F4s Flight Controller With Dsmx Reciever

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by Justin S, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. Justin S

    Justin S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Temecula
    Hello, I need help. I have a Racerstar F4S flight controller and I have a dsmx reciever. I’m hearing that I need a 3.3v buck or a 3.3v step down to make it work. I don’t know if that true or what but I need help with wiring the reciever to the fc and how to make it work in betaflight. Thank you
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018


  2. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Welcome to the forum, as far as the receiver and the controller go you have no issues, the F4S has a 3 Amp/ 5 Volt Sbec and the Spektrum receiver will work fine on 3.5 to 9 Volts. As far as set up goes I can't help but I'm sure someone will come along shortly who has set them up.

    Product Specifications AR400 DSMX Receiver
    Type:Full-range DSMX® aircraft receiver# of Channels:4
    Modulation: DSM2/DSMX
    Band: 2.4GHz
    Length: 1.2 in (31mm)
    Width: 0.7 in (17mm)
    Height: 0.4 in (11mm)
    Weight: 0.2 oz (5.6 g)
    Voltage Range: 3.5–9.6V
    Antenna Length: 190mm

    1499154699_3.jpg
     
  3. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. Well-Known Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I'm not sure what you mean by setup? Here's wiring cerstar-TattooF4S-FC-ESC-Integrated-Flight-Controller-connection-diagram-rx-motor-fpv-camera-vtx.jpg
     
  4. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. Well-Known Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
  5. Justin S

    Justin S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Temecula
    So this is the f4s flight controller I have. I only see a sbus/ppm at the top right. So can I just put the spektrum reciever onto that and it’ll work?
    Thanks for the replies
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    34,005
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Very sorry for the late reply.

    I have been studying that FC trying to find where to wire everything up to and this one surprises me. With a Spektrum Sat, you will need the VCC (5v in this case. I always use a 3.3 port, but it seems this board doesn't have one and @Admiral taught me something today! I didn't know they could go up to 9v!), ground and then you have the signal. VCC and ground are pretty self explanatory but the signal (usually gray wire, maybe yellow) needs to go to an RX port on the board. I'm only seeing one Rx port and that is where the GPS is wired into in your picture. Unless the SID for SBUS is UART3 or something, the RX6 is going to be your only option.

    From there you will need to go into the config tab and set a serial rx to on, then you will need to go into the receiver tab and set it to spektrum 2048. I may have those backwards and if I do, it will turn off the serial rx when you save the file. Always double check all settings after saving.

    This has to be the first board I have seen that doesn't have multiple UART ports on it and that doesn't have a 3.3 pad. Hope this helps and again, sorry for the late reply.
     

Share This Page