john49

Hi all i just joined,im new to this hobby just building a 450 trex clone following tonys videos so far so good,i also going to build a hk 500gt i have most parts just waiting for a few more bits.A few years ago i bought an e smart 550 fully upgraded parts i never flew it (i cant fly yet) i believe you cant get parts for it anymore or are hard to find just wondering could parts of the heli be transferred onto a trex 550 clone thanks

Lee

Hi John,
Welcome to the forum. Anything you need just ask.
As for the E Smart 550, you can use the electrics (motor, ESC, servos, etc ) Blades main and tail, paddles. As for frame parts, some may fit like tail boom, landing gear, flybar. But you'll just have to check and see for those.
All the best Lee

Tony

Staff member
Welcome to the forum John. If there is anything we can help you with just let us know. Make sure to post a build thread in the 500 heli section before building that helicopter, I have a LOT of suggestions on what you need to replace on that helicopter.

john49

thanks guys for the welcome,my ambition is just to hover them at the moment.I spent a lot of money on them a few years ago and only crashed ,so i gave the hobby up.I have the bug back again this time i have done lots of hours on the phoenix sim i understand them a bit more after building one and watching tonys videos.I think my biggest problem will be setting up my spektrum dx6i for a beginner

Tony

Staff member
For a beginner setting, put full throws in with about 45% expo, then use dual rates in position 0 or 1 and lower the throws down to about 60% with 40% expo. This will make the sticks very soft feeling and should provide for a better hover. I know how you feel about doing nothing but crashing, I did the same thing when I got started. Wait scratch that, I still do that lmao. I can fly planes, but my fingers just won't work right with a heli.

john49