Spektrum Newbie Question

acestu

Hi,

I am new to RC modelling and have just bought a DX8 Transmitter ready for the quadcopter that I am going to build, I have unpacked the box to have a look at what's in there and I see the receiver AR8000 and the Telemetry unit but what is the satellite unit used for ? . I have had a look in the manual but there are no diagrams that show how the parts are wired together...any info appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Acestu

acestu

Hey buddy! You are gonna love the DX8 transmitter. Several people on the forum have it, including myself, and we all really like it.

In regard to the satellite receiver...take a look at this link here:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdId=SPM9645

Basically, the Spektrum satellite receiver will plug into any Spektrum main receiver, then giving you two functional receivers.

Hi Mountain,

Thanks for the reply, I looked at the link but it is all gobledygook to me "Remote Receivers", When I used to be into RC years ago it was a transmitter, receiver and servos, but now this DX8 machine launches nuclear missiles .... when you say that it gives you 2 functional receivers do you mean it doubles the channels to 16 ?

Thanks again
Acestu

Dirk

Things have changed over the years, trust me! The remote receiver (The small one ) only gives you redundancy. Call it a "back-up" unit if you will. It does not double you channels.

You will love the DX8. I am still in awe as to what it can do. Still makes my coffee a little weak though. I am sure it can change a setting somewhere. LOL

Derek

I wish it doubled the channels to 16...that would be awesome! Unfortunately, no. The satellite rx gives you some added "insurance" that the signal from the DX8 will be received. You still have the same number of channels, that being 8, but you have two receivers that are listening for the signals from the DX8. I hope this helps.