New To Electric RC

eekay

Hello all, my name is Chris, and I am somewhat new to the hobby...in its present form.

I grew up in a small mining town in the remote Eastern Canadian wilderness, where we had a small flying club called the Tanya Dusters RC Club, was a card carrying member of MAAC (Canadian AMA) for 2 years, and had a fist full of Duraplane and Thunder Tiger ARF trainers (Circa 2000).

Around 2004 I relocated to a city called St. Johns, which unfortunately experiences near hurricane forced winds on a daily basis and maybe see's a days worth of sunshine per year. Needless to say, that put the kibosh on any flying.

I just recently relocated again, to the Canadian Prairies in Alberta, with big open fields, beautiful weather, and little wind (Save for the odd tornado), so, Im getting right back into it.

I have not been keeping up with the advancements in RC at all over the mast 9-10 years, and what a mind blowing surprise to see what the advent of the brushless outrunner and the LiPo battery have done for the hobby, nitro seems to be extremely rare these days.

As my first foray into the new electric side of the hobby, I stumbled upon Troys RC-Help Trainer on YouTube, and threw one together. My first HobbyKing order arrived yesterday (took nearly two months and shipping was nearly $100, you have no idea how hard it is to get a LiPo battery in this country) and hopefully the trainer will be in the air soon.

Figuring out LiPos, Motors, and all the electronics that go with it has likely been the mostly infuriating experience Ive had in a long time. I'm slowly....slowwwwly getting my head around it, and Im headed over to one of the sub-forums now to unleash the pent up fury in the form of long winded questions.

I look forward to chatting with you all.

Chris

pvolcko

Welcome back into the RC flying fold, Chris! :)

Do you have any Canadian domestic sources for lipos? I'd avoid international shipping and the customs headaches associated with them if possible.