New member intro

kenny

Hello all, my name is Ken. I live in upstate NY (Syracuse), and I am old enough to be receiving Social Security. I am partially retired; I was a tax and pension attorney for years working for both a group of lawyers and accountants and a Big 8 accounting firm. I started flying rc helicopters about 3 years ago when my son got me a Blade MCX, and since then I have acquired a Blade MSR, a Blade MCX2, a Blade SR, a Trex 450 Sport v1, a Trex 500e, a Blade MCPX, a Blade 300x, and most recently a Trex 450 Pro DFC with an AR7200bx controller.

I do only very mild sport flying...I can barely manage 1D, never mind 3D. I don't crash very often, but then again, I don't do too many risky maneuvers, unless my accident. :)

I found this forum while searching for build videos for a Trex 450 Pro DFC. While HF has very good build video, there was no video specifically for the 450 Pro DFC. Freddie Can Fly and Heli-Tuning offered helpful hints and tips along with video, but Tony's 450 Pro DFC build was a cut above. I also have been through the Beastx setup videos a few times, and will be going through them again once I setup my AR7200bx.

I keep track of my flights as follows:

Trex 450 v1 585
SR 829
Trex 500 84
MCPX 627
Blade 300x 132

My 450 DFC is all put together, and I will spending the next week or so figuring out the wiring, setting up the Beastx, and thread locking all the screws. Right or wrong, I thread lock nothing the first time through. Much easier to undo my mistakes. Once I am satisfied with the build, I methodically go back and threadlock the screws. On the 450 Pro, the only things which cannot be reached once fully assembled are the motor mount screws and the servo horn screws.

So....that's it for the moment.

Ken

helicc16

the Smoothie Pilot
:welcome1: Kenny. I am sure you'll like it here. I am a newbie too. Since I joined this forum, not a day has gone without me visiting this forum at least once.