450 How to manage windy conditions in a 450 size heli?

merajoek

Hi,

I'm still learning to fly my HK450 Pro FBL and struggle a bit in windy conditions. I find that when I turn away from the wind the heli will just drop like a rock! Caught me by surprise today but luckily thanks to ground effect and finally adding some collective I pulled up in time.

I also find that turning into the wind it climbs quite dramatically.

I am used to flying planes and they don't tend to react so dramatically to wind.

How do you experienced heli pilots manage it? Do you guys just anticipate the dropping/climbing and add/reduce collective from experience? Is there another way to turn away/into the wind to minimise the effect?

Apologies for the dumb quesitons.

Here is a video from today's flight showing what happened. Best to watch it in HD and fullscreen otherwise you might not see the helicopter at all!

Last edited by a moderator:

Tony

Staff member
Hey Joe, welcome to the forum! I hope it was you and not the forum that double posted this thread, but I'm going to delete the other one.

What you are experiencing actually has a name. It's called Translational Lift. Every helicopter feels the effects of this, and every pilot has to learn to anticipate it. I guess that answers one of your questions lol.

When you are flying into the wind, you have nice clean air that is hitting the disk and clean air provides more lift. In FF (Forward Flight), you are pushing more air down in the rear of the disk than you are in teh front. So the air in the front of the disk is pretty much stagnant and swirling, but the air in the rear, getting the awesome clean undisturbed air, is creating the maximum amount of lift. So your helicopter is going to gain altitude.