General How to connect AR8000 and 3GX on Trex 450

OllieGBR

OK, so I've been following the build videos over the past few weeks and have got to number 7.
Here the wiring is skipped over as it takes too long.
Up to and including build 6 I've got the three servo's in and bound to my DX7s on a new model. The tails complete and only the tail servo not connected. I've not yet secured the BEC.
What I really need to understand is how to connect the AR8000 to the 3GX. Idea's on where to mount the AR8000 and satellite receiver.

Any help/ pointers is always appreciated as I'm stuck at the moment.
This is my first build.

Thanks
Ollie

heli-maniac

just get another satellite receiver and you dont have to use the ar8000 there is not mutch room for both ar 8000 and 3gx
un less you mount the ar8000 on the tail boom mount and the 3gx down in the belly of the bird

coolgabsi

Super Mod & DEAL KING!
Like Jesse said

You can save that expensive rx for another bird. ;) :)

You won't need a seperate rx just a satellite and you are good

Fly safe!! :) have fun!

OllieGBR

Stokke,
I zoomed in on the picture of your setup and think I have managed to replicate it, (it's difficult to tell some of the colours).
The DX7s is bound with the AR8000, and I get movement on all the servo's when I input on the Tx.
It seams a very complex, and slightly messy setup. What are the advantages of using the AR8000 over just going direct to the 3GX?

My servo's are all over the place, my next step is working out what the hell is going on!

Cheers
Ollie

Tony

Staff member
There is no advantage. if you are using a 7+ channel Tx, I suggest just using the two satellite Rx's to set the heli up. Its MUCH cleaner when you are all done.

OllieGBR

Prefect, thanks Tony.
Perhaps you can answer my question on the satellites then, can these be any make, (can I use the one I have attached to the AR8000 for example)? Can you mix satellite makes, (I ask because I'll have to order another one).