1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

ESC HobbyWing ESC

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by D.O.G., Apr 11, 2016.

< Scorpion vs castle creations ESC's | Servo Horn Alignment >
  1. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I'm looking at getting a new HW ESC for my 500 :scratchchin:. I have a yep 80a on it now but someone mention that I should at least go to 100a esc. My question is which of theses esc should i purchases? The HobbyWing Platium 80a V4, the 100a V3 or the 120a V4? They all are for the 500. I'm thinking that the 100a V3 should work fine but I want some opinion before I purchase one:anyone:. Thanks in advance.
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    How many amps does your motor pull, max? If you don't know, what is the part number on the motor you are running?
     
  3. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That motor pulls only 55 amps. An 80 amp ESC is overkill, let alone a 100 amp. If you have a YEP 80 amp on it now, and it's not getting hot (which it shouldn't be), I wouldn't change.
     
  5. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Thanks for the information Tony. She is not running hot at all. I'll stay with the 80a yep then. 80a is a over kill, huh? Will this work even if it's for 450/450L class heli?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Opps http://www.hobbywing.com/goods.php?id=481&filter_attr=6345.6346
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Will it work? Yes. But it's major overkill. A 450 doesn't need more than a 40a ESC. Remember, the motor pulls power, the ESC and battery do NOT push it. You just have to make sure what the motor wants to pull can be handled by the ESC and battery.
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
  8. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    No I haven't but I will now. Thanks for the help. I'll just leave the 500 as is and save my money for something else latter on down the road.
     
  9. trainrider06

    trainrider06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Airlines
    Location:
    Texas
    I just put a HW 100a platinum v3 in my 500, brand new it was 64.67 or something like that on eBay. I had a Castle Ice 75a
    On it, but ran into an issue of either 1 or 2 servos drawing a little bit more volts or amps I think, anyway it was causing havoc trying to get my Spirit Pro program to work correctly. Whatever the issue, esc or servos drawing too much, as soon as I put that 100 amper on it all was solved. I really believe this was the issue that caused a crash with it a few months ago, because I was flying it kinda sporty, made a big long banking turn, and it just started drifting away from me, and wouldn't come back, until it was so far out that I couldn't see which way it was going!
    There is a servo test or BEC test in the Spirit program, it failed miserably locked up the servos for 2-3 seconds when it went into this test. My BEC just wasn't cutting it on the Castle I guess...
    Whatever happened that day brown out esc overload, I don't want that to happen again, so I made sure it wouldn't!
    For me at least it's insurance, I even bought a new AR7700 receiver for it with remote sat. That 80a will probably be fine though, I really didn't know what the issue might have been, but it's covered now! :)
     
  10. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I wasn't having an Issue with the esc. I just wanted all three helis to have the same brand ESC "HW" on them. I have the programming box so why not have the same brand ESC. PS, I did have the same issue with the Castle esc but my Castle esc burnt up in front of me and also took out my AR7200BX at the same time. Not sure what happen but from then on in, I stay away from Castle even though everyone has good things to say about Castle. I just didn't want that to happen again. Like you,Trainrider.
     
  11. trainrider06

    trainrider06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Airlines
    Location:
    Texas
    I think Castle esc's overall are pretty good, but I have heard below 100a people seem to have issues with em from time to time. On my instance it clearly wasn't enough.
    But mine was a 75a too!
     
  12. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    I used a YEP 80A on my Trex 500 and it worked fine, I sold the heli to Neil and it's still working fine.

    As for the rating of a motor and it's effect on the ESC...... 55A is not what the motor 'will' pull, it's just the safe maximum rating. The motor may in fact pull more or less than this depending on what load you put it under and what voltage you feed it with.
     
  13. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    I think a lot of the bad feeling toward Castle ESC's stems from the problems they had a few years ago with their 'Ice' HV ESC's. The early ones were prone to spontaneous combustion which caused a number of models to be lost. Castle eventually recognised the problem and did a recall of all the HV Ice ESC's. So while Castle did the right thing in the end many people were left with a bad taste having lost models and due to the way Castle handled the issue before the recall.
     
  14. trainrider06

    trainrider06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Airlines
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, I remember reading quite a few flaming heli stories, but remember they were quickly extinguished when Castle did what you said. This one I have clearly wasn't going to handle the job though on mine. I'd heard so much good about the HW esc, and it was recommended by the Spirit tech over there at Spirit, so I got one. So far so good!
     
  15. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,000
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    If you still want to spend your money the Hobbywing 50amp might work. 99% of the pilots out there will pull the max current during normal flights. I rarely pull over 30 amps on the gaui. I am mostly in the teens. Keep thins in mind too, most escs are rated well under what they can handle. A 50 amp esc maybe able to handle spikes close to 100 amps or more. They only way you'll pull more than 50 amps is if your collective management is crap or you dig into collective for a save. Well on this setup anyways.
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I woudl put the HW 60 on it. That is what I'm using on that plane in teh video and it's fantastic. But no real need other than to get rid of some programmign cards lol.

    I think the "ICE" brand of castle is the only one affected by the catching fire issue. And I also think if you call them, they will replace it but don't quote me on that. ,
     
  17. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,000
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Castle addressed the fire issue with the Edge series. Justin Pucci from RCHN built a goblin Speed with a Castle Edge 160 and pushed amp draws well over 200 amps for 10-15 seconds with out issues. Now the stand alone BEC is still open on discussion. I have an external Castle 10 amp BEC on my X3 and have not had a single issue with it, keep in mind I don't fly hard at all.
     
  18. trainrider06

    trainrider06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Airlines
    Location:
    Texas
    I still have confidence in Castle, but I like these HW ESC's also. Seems they are stepping up their game! Besides...I like the little fan on mine! Lol
     
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just sucks more power from the battery. Wouldn't be an issue if you could do more FFF. Yup, time to push hahahaha.
     
  20. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,000
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    If your not beating the hell out of the motor the esc wont need the fan. As for hobbywing I think its the best bang for the buck. They definitely stepped their game up from 5 years ago. The new Platinum series is beast for the cost. The internal gov is supposed to be just about dead on at factory defaults and in some cases out performing other governor options.
     
< Scorpion vs castle creations ESC's | Servo Horn Alignment >

Share This Page