Hi! I'm new to rc-help.com

Hi guys/gals I'm new to rc-help.com and was directed to the site from a youtube friend of mine mountaindewdude76 Derek. I'm 42 and have a 19 y.o. daughter and 15 y.o. son and we just discovered hobby grade rc in may of 2012. My son and started out by buying a used hirobo shuttle nitro heli. We got it home and started it up and the noise of the engine and blades extended and starting to rotate as I increased the throttle had my heart racing and fear factor pegging the scale.
So, common sense kicked in, a little late but still kicked in and I decided this may be a little to big to start out with. The hirobo was abandoned for now, and we looked for a LHS. After finding one close to us we went there and were completely amazed by all of the neat rc's from planes to boats to heli's to cars. We looked at the helicopters and decided on the blade sr. It looked like a good size to start with. Got it home charged the battery put the training gear on and attempted to spool it up.... and up it went and crash. I went back to the hobby store and bought all the pieces I needed to fix it. And made attempt #2 and up it went and crash. Needless to say that happened 5 times. On my 5th time at the LHS getting parts again to repair the sales person asks me, do you have a sim? I said a sim? no, he went over to a shelf and came back with real flight basic simulator and said stop trying to fly until you can with this. I said thank you I didn't even know there was a sim.