Hi from the UK

Zadren

Hi guys, I'm Darren from Twickenham, UK. I've recently started to dive into the the RC game after I left the RAF.
I've been pottering around with a Blade 120 SR, without much success and a few months ago got my hands on a Blade 450 and a DX6i. I've been having a lot of trouble learning to fly the 450 - being stuck on keeping the thing in a stable tail-in hover, so I can't move on to other more interesting things yet.
Having found this site and the great vids that Tony produces, I'm hopeful that I can now progress (after I rebuild the 450 from the recent hideous crash!)

Just last week, I got hold of my first fixed-wing trainer - an ST Discovery, and have found that I'm a much better pilot at fixed wing. I still desperately want to get competent with my heli though.

Great to meet you all.

Daz :)

callsign4223

Staff member
Hi, glad you found us. Don't be afraid to move into forward flight, the helicopter actually gets more stable when you start moving around. Holding a real steady hover is very difficult.

Lee

Welcome Daz for a fellow Brit. Airplanes or Planks as we call them :D are great for improving your stick control and orientation. Stick at it with the helis mate, its a buzz for sure.

Tony

Staff member
:welcome1:

Welcome to the forum Darren. I have posted a reply in your other thread in regards to your questions. Hope to see you in the air very soon.

And yes, fixed wing is much easier to learn on however it's not as gratifying as your first heli flight. There is just something about a rotary wing that is just awesome.

murankar

Staff member
I think I saw this quote on a T-shirt somewhere: "airplanes are for folks who can't fly heli's".

Keep at it and it will come. Takes many many many batteries and time. Helicopters are difficult to fly so don't worry about it.

stokke

Hey Daz, and welcome to the forum!

Take it from a fellow newbie; get yourself a simulator! Crashes are for freeee :D