Heli Kits

Adam

When a person is ready to go to the next step what are some of the best and affordable kits that a person literally builds from the ground up?

Lee

450 size. look at the Chaos 450 Pro, Tarot 450 V2, HK450GT, CopterX 450, in order of quality. There are many others of lower quality not worth mentioning.

Tony

Staff member
I would add the EXI Pro to that list. Make sure to get the belt version as well. Seemed to fly better than the HK450GT, but mine was a TT and not a belt. Had nothing but problems out of the TT though. I will be going belt when I buy another one.

In fact, I would take the HK450GT off the list and only go with the Pro version. The EXI will come with a fiberglass canopy whereas the HK comes with a very cheap and brittle plastic.

j1273

I have no experience with this model but the lads at the club mentioned Phoenix clones.
Anyone got an opinion on these helis?
Jay

murankar

Staff member
I just got my EXI 450 Pro (belt) a couple weeks ago. It comes mostly assembled but you will need to break it down and ensure all the parts work smoothly. I am in the process of rebuilding the rotor head (blade grips, feathering shaft and all new bearings). This was by choice for the most part, although I had an accident that made me think about doing this. Also the canopy does not come pre drilled, build the heli first and place your battery where you want it then fit the canopy on. Mine might be a tad to tight wont know till I fly it. All the parts moved freely and with out binding out of the box this could be a plus. Also some of the screws already had thread lock on them and I just left them alone for now. Make sure you have a good solder iron for those screws that wont break free easily. Other than that I have no complaints so far, will see after second flight.

Adam

The chaos 500 kit with scorpion motor looks pretty good but i think it is TY and i like belt better also

Adam