FBL Gyro Futaba GY401 DX8 Set Up - How To ??

MIGPILOT44

Hello all, I've been flying my TREX 500 on a Spektrum DX6i for some time now but recently upgraded to the DX8. I'm looking for some help setting up my Futaba GY401 gyro within the DX8. Preferably a video, if anyone knows where I can find one it would be a great help.

I've found the RC Help videos posted on Youtube a big help since getting into helicopters 3 years ago. I've flown planes for nearly 30 years and got a little bored. I'm a self taught heli pilot, the learning curve has been quite steep.

If anyone knows where I can get some help in this area it would be greatly appreciated.

Lee

Once you assign the Gyro switch to Gear, the only difference will be the %.
DX6I runs from 0% to 100% So for Head Hold, the normal starting point for gain settings is around 65%
DX8 runs from -100% to +100% So for Head Hold you would be starting around 30%

MIGPILOT44

Once you assign the Gyro switch to Gear, the only difference will be the %.
DX6I runs from 0% to 100% So for Head Hold, the normal starting point for gain settings is around 65%
DX8 runs from -100% to +100% So for Head Hold you would be starting around 30%

Thank you for the reply. My concern is that the gyro switch is a 3 position switch. In position 1 I have 70% in as the value, position 2 I have 30%, and position 3 I have zero. The light on the GY401 stays on in position 1 and 2, then goes off in position 3.

Are you saying that for heading lock position 1 I should start with positive 30%? Should position 2 be a negative number? My concern is that if by chance I accidently put the switch in position 3 that it will be in a position where the gyro is off resulting in a crash. I fly primarily in heading lock and don't move the switch much but this just doesn't sound like the best set up.

Thanks for the help!

Lee

What I do is decide what I think is a good % Say 25%
I will set 1 to 20% 2 to 25% and 3 to 30%