1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

General Dx6

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by Matt, Mar 27, 2019.

< Goblin 570 Sport | Hirobo 30 Scale Schweizer 300 >
  1. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    Do I need anything with more than 6 channels to fly an electric heli? How many channels do I need to fly a gas powered heli? I’m trying to consolidate and I’ve got a dx8 but don’t use it think I need the additional channels. What about Futaba. Do they make a 6 channel tx. Futaba vs Spektrum. Any idea which is better? Thanks in advance. M
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,915
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would keep the DX8 over the DX6, even if the 8 is the first gen. it's always better to have more channels than you need rather than to not have enough channels. I had the G1 DX8 and loved it. Purchased the DX9 for the channel. One of these days, I may get the IX-12, but doubt it lol.
     
  3. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    How many channels would I need to fly a gas powered heli? It’s got to be more than 6, right? One to control the gas and 6 to control everything else, right?
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,915
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Throttle is controlled on the same channel regardless of fuel. You may need a channel to kill the ignition box, but not 100% required. So you can get by with 6 channels on a gas heli, but I would definitely put a kill switch on it so you would need another channel. Unless you set your servo with a micro switch so that when you hit hold it will kill it, or you can use the Kill or Cut button to reverse teh throttle servo enough to trip that micro switch. But again, I would rather have a dedicated channel for this.
     
  5. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    My dx8 has a problem with the scroll button. At a certain point on the scroll wheel it jumps around. Have you seen this before and is there a fix for it, whether taking it apart or downloading the latest firmware?
     
  6. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,915
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This sounds like a dirty POT on the board. I would get some electronics cleaner and take the Tx apart and spray that stuff on the POT while you are rolling it back and forth. If that doesn't fix it, then the pot is wore out. Of course a video of what it is doing would help to know exactly what it is doing.
     
  8. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    This is not a very good video of what I’m talking about but when I move the roller one turn it moves two turns. It “skips” over one parameter and goes to the second. When turning the roller one turn it goes two turns or gets stuck going back and forth. It’s “unpredictable “

     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,915
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would say clean that pot and see what happens.
     
< Goblin 570 Sport | Hirobo 30 Scale Schweizer 300 >

Share This Page