1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

ESC Did I get the wrong esc?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Walt, Mar 13, 2015.

< YEP ESC help plz.. | esc or motor? >
  1. Lee

    Lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,489
    Likes Received:
    399
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Extreme Sports Instructor
    Location:
    Tarifa Spain (UK)


  2. Walt

    Walt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    So my Atmel Atmega Socket Firmware Flashing Tool came today still waiting for my USBASP USBISP 3.3 5V AVR Downloader Programmer With ATMEGA8 ATMEGA128
    should be here in a day or two. Im going to know alot more about ESCs then I ever wanted to when Im done. I already have the ESCs soldered to the PDB. Can I program them like this or do I need to unsolder them? Going to flash them to SimonK.
     
  3. Walt

    Walt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Getting close FPV on the way. quad+almost dun.jpg

    quad+almost dun.jpg
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,669
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Be careful putting the esc on top of the arm. It's pretty tight.
     
  5. Lee

    Lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,489
    Likes Received:
    399
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Occupation:
    Extreme Sports Instructor
    Location:
    Tarifa Spain (UK)
    Wow they are some chunky ESCs
     
  6. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    That's what I was thinking, there are so many small lightweight ESCs around now.
    I have the EMAX 12a and they have been fine for me.
     
  7. Walt

    Walt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    There not chunky there big boned !
     
  8. claytonbakerjr

    claytonbakerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States

    That's the spirit....
    Glad to see you changed the mounting of the board.
    Looks much nicer.
    What kind of spacers are you using on the arm/frame area?
     
  9. Walt

    Walt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Im using the prop adapters for spacers. I figure they will give if or when I crash. What do you think ?
     
  10. claytonbakerjr

    claytonbakerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I will assume they are the same thickness?
    As long as they are solid all around should work fine.
    I would also if there is room redirect your motor signal wires
    through the same channels as you did for the motor power wires.
    Then feed them up and out of the slots forward and aft of the KK2 board.
    The only reason I suggest this now is when I 1st built mine I too brought the wires above
    and then after 2 or 3 rebuilds trying to clean things up I just said the heck with it
    and redirected as much of the wires I could under the top plate
    and brought them out nearest the areas needed.
    Only thing I would think might get in the way is how thick those spacers are
    if they will give you enough lead way.
    As you keep tinkering you will find your going to have that thing apart
    more then in the air at first....at least I know I did :)
    I recently had a 3D printer guy blast out some Spacers for the arms which are thick enough
    to give nice room between the top and bottom plates for the "dirty" side of things :)
    They also provide a nice size slot to run all of the wires through via the arm area.
    These are the ones I had printed in black. I did not use the LED holder since I made my own.
    http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:473966
     
< YEP ESC help plz.. | esc or motor? >

Share This Page