1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Power Supply's Dell Poweredge 2850 Mod

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by bigone5500, Jan 13, 2018.

< Clearance issue? | Hobbywing 60a Esc Platinum Pro Series V1 Calibration (throttle Range Settings) >
  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Couldn't I just clip the pins I don't need and wire the rest up then cover with a blob of hot glue? The 7000814 is a bit different than mine. I'll take a photo of the internals.
     


  2. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Here. Have some professional photographs

    20180119_160418.jpg 20180119_160456.jpg 20180119_160517.jpg
     
  3. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Underside of the PCB.

    20180119_161701.jpg 20180119_161709.jpg
     
  4. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  5. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    There's this one too. It may be the same.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I found this image on google. I decided to give it a try and it works. There is a switch you can add to slow down the fan. Man this thing is loud.

    Would it be best to connect all ground together and all positive together to get better current flow? In my eyes, the more tabs you have connected together the better...maybe overkill.

    Pin Connections Z750P-00.jpg
     
  7. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    If I remove the shield from the inside will it affect anything?

    20180120_122544.jpg
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,183
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That picture I posted had the fan wired cleaner than that. No need for a switch, if the PSU needs to cool off because it is getting too hot, it will override that jumper.
     
  9. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I got it wired up. I need to get some banana plugs now. I ordered some 10ga silicone wire so i can have the connections mo eable. I will be putting this setup in a case...somehow.
     
  10. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I wired mine with a switch to turn it on/off. I also wired the fan speed pin with the switch so it's slow at startup.
     
  11. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I left my PSU plugged in and went to town. I was gone for about an hour or so. I just felt the case of the PSU and it was warm. This doesn't seem normal.
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,183
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Like I said, there is no need for a switch. Just wiring B2 to ground will slow that fan down and it will speed up when it needs to cool off. In your case, I'm not sure it will ever kick on high.
     
  13. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I looked at my sheet and I think I know why the case was warm, at least I think I know. I have A1 (PS_KILL) and B1 (Logic Return (aka ground)) always connected. Does this cause the system to be 'On' all the time?
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,183
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, PS_KILL to ground will turn the PSU on. If you want to put a switch on that one, it will turn it off. PS_KILL is also your 3.3 volt which you can access through the small pins. PS_ON is how you turn on your 12v rail and energize the large spades. This one is also connected to the same ground (logic return) as PS_KILL. Then, Pin B2 is also connected to the same ground to slow down the fan so you don't lose your hearing.
     
  15. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ok. So if I connect PS_KILL and PS_ON, then switch them to ground, I should be ok? I will do some testing. It seems that I had the 3.3v energized and the fan was not running as the system didn't know to turn on. That may explain the warmer than normal case which cooled down quickly when switched on.

    Stay tuned to this thread for more updates.
     
  16. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    ??? Ok. So there is no reply??? Weerd ...
     
  17. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,183
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I take it you received an email? There was a spam post that Randy reported and Matt deleted and banned. First spam post in a very long time.
     
  18. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ah ok. That explains it.
     
< Clearance issue? | Hobbywing 60a Esc Platinum Pro Series V1 Calibration (throttle Range Settings) >

Share This Page