1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Power Supply's Dell Poweredge 2850 Mod

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by bigone5500, Jan 13, 2018.

< Alzrc V4 50a Brushless Esc Governor Mode | Hobbywing 60a Esc Platinum Pro Series V1 Calibration (throttle Range Settings) >
  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I need to know how to mod this power supply for use on my charger. @Tony I see you have a video on you tube that shows modding a 600w PSU. Are those the same as the 700w?
     
  2. Smoggie

    Smoggie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    The modifications will be similar but not necessarily identical. I found this pin out photo showing what pins need connecting:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That pinout is correct, but unless you want to hear a 747 on your desk, you will want to add one more pin lmao. The left two pins are the 3.3, otherwise known as PS_KILL and a ground pin (lower left is ground). The far right is what enables 12 volt power which is what the spades are (noted on the picture. You can get 3.3 out of other pins in the array). But, in the picture below, you are going to see two brown wires. You can either bridge those two together, or you can run the left brown wire and connect it to the other wires to slow down that fan. Don't worry about that top left pin with the red wire, that is just another ground pin. I had to use 3 grounds since I was just using jumper wires.

    IMG_0817.JPG
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Here is a picture of a plug I made. Works great. In this one the white is ps_kill the red is ps_on and the black one is the fan speed reducer. You can put a switch on the white wire to turn the psu on and off.

    image.jpg
     
  5. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Great. Thanks! Just got to wait for them to arrive.
     
  6. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Would it be a good idea to series the two PSUs? Get 24v at 700w. I'm assuming they can be paralleled...
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You will need to float the DC ground on one of them otherwise if one shorts out, it will energize the case of the other one with household voltage. With your setup, you only need one. I think I made a comment that if you wanted to series them to get the HP's in the other thread. I would not do it on these unless you find all of the DC ground connections and isolate them.
     
  8. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    So the PSU I'm getting is 700w. It outputs 12vdc @ 57.3A. This should be more than sufficient for the iCharger 206B. Am I correct? I'm thinking that if it is, then I will have another PSU for other applications.
     
  9. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    After typing that, I had a thought. Will the 12vdc input voltage on the charger limit the amount of cells I can charge?
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No, it has an internal DC to DC converter built into it so you can charge anything up to 6s. And that PSU should be enough for your charger without having to go to 24 volts.
     
  11. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Got my PSUs today. It seems that the auction was for two different ones. One is 700w and the other is 750w. I guess that makes the deal better.

    1516325350585646736294.jpg
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    post a picture of the pins
     
  13. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Dell model 7001072-Y000. 750w 62.4A.

    20180118_193718.jpg
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Should be the same pinout that I posted before. Only one way to find out, but I would do a quick google search just to make sure.
     
  15. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    The other one looks the same. Although a bit wider on the output pins.

    Model NPS-700AB. 700w 57.3A.
    20180118_194013.jpg
     
  16. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    This is about the only thing I found. It's the exact one I have. However, one of the comments stated that you need to connect the negative pins together and the positive pins together to achieve max current from the PSU. Is that true? Here is the video.

     
  17. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just use jumpers rather than tearing it all the way apart to jump it like the video is showing. As for connecting all of the pins, I have never heard of doing that and have never done it and trust me, on my HP's, I get all the power I need out of it. I'm sure Dell is the same. Might need to run a stress test just to verify, but don't feel there is really a need.
     
  18. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I'll tackle it tomorrow or sat. Got to get up early so off to bed it is.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yea, I should already be asleep, but yea... lmao.
     
  20. callsign4223

    callsign4223 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Municipal IT
    Location:
    Midwest City, Oklahoma
    Here is a link where a guy did one. The thing he did that I like is that he found the internal 12v + and -. He wired them to banana plugs on the top. This is how I did mine. Other than the banana plug conversion, everything else Tony has shown has been spot on.

    Converting Dell 7000814 Server Power Supplies - RC Groups
     
< Alzrc V4 50a Brushless Esc Governor Mode | Hobbywing 60a Esc Platinum Pro Series V1 Calibration (throttle Range Settings) >

Share This Page