ESC Components selection for special application

Serge

Hi,

I am new to RC with limited knowledge. I have a background engineering knowledge in the industrial side.
RC is very different and special.

I have searched and read a lot right and left but cannot find clear answers to my questions.
I need help to select and match batteries with ESC and motor.

I am looking for a high voltage (relative to RC) and high power kit with a brusless motor.
I need 55000 rpm (higher is better) and around 4000 W of peak power (15 sec max).
Continous is not important but should be about 2000 W.
I would like to operate at 51.8 V (14S) with my speed at nominal voltage.
Efficiency is also important, but less than power.

How do you choose the optimal kv of the motor?
I found that RPM = kV (V-IpRm), is this simple equation valid with a 3 phase AC motor of this kind?
Do you keep a margin?

What is the voltage drop of typical ESCs? (mosfets do have a voltage loss)

When the peak power of the motor is not provided, how do you estimate it from the nominal rating?

The max rpm is rarely provided (strange!!). Can I exeed the (kv X max volt) for short bursts?
Can I exceed the max voltage?

If I cannot find the ideal kv, can I use a higher than necessary kv and operate at less than 100% pwm?
Can I set a maximum current in the ESC to protect the motor?
Can I set the maximum speed in the ESC to protect the motor?

In my application, the batteries/ESC/motor will never be disconnected.
Is it possible to shut off the ESC? If yes, how fast could it be powered back on?

Do you have suggestions for motors I could use? (I know Neumotors, but to expensive).

Thanks for your help.

Serge

fran11784

Goblin 380 Supporter
Hi,

I am new to RC with limited knowledge. I have a background engineering knowledge in the industrial side.
RC is very different and special.

I have searched and read a lot right and left but cannot find clear answers to my questions.