600 Chicken, or the Egg?

Giby1

Happy New Year everyone.
I would like to build a "UH-1" Huey in the 600/700 size Electric.
My problem is I am new to helicopters.

Do I buy the kit and mechanics first, and then go shopping for a fuselage,
or do I get the fuselage first, then go looking for a kit to fit?

Any help is appriciated.
Giby1

Lee

+1 On the link that Tony posted. I have the 600 Chaos from them. Its a great heli. Their fuselages are fantastic. Check the super scale helis AWESOME!!!!

Stambo

If you are new to heli's may I suggest a simulator and a cheaper heli to learn with.
I don't know anyone who has not crashed while learning.
Better to crash a cheaper bird and repair it than destroy a scale machine.
And by cheaper I don't mean a clone that you will spend a fortune on getting it airworthy.
Perhaps a used align bird to get you started or even a micro like a v911 for orientation training.
I guess a lot depends on how familiar you are with your transmitter.
I would suggest a lot of stick time on a sim, and don't treat it as a game.
Treat it as though each crash on the sim is gonna cost real money.
It will save you real money in the long term.

Good luck with whatever direction you decide to take.

pvolcko

Agree with Stambo totally. Scale is an expensive way to get into the hobby both in terms of build/kit costs and in terms of inevitable repairs. Get something cheaper to start with, get good enough to fly circuits with it without crashing or feeling like you're on the ragged edge of control, and then look into the scale heli build.

Ken Jackson

Learn how to fly while your building your scale helicopter. There is a learning curve and you will spend a few bucks getting educated. Once you figure out how "not to crash" then you fly your dream chopper and make sure you video your flight and your experience learning to fly. I've been at it 2 years, spent a lot to learn it fast but I love flying and pushing myself to do more. But I hate crashing.