General Beginner's help

AThousandCranes

Hey there! My name is Mira and I'm new to RC aircraft making.
For a project at my school, I've decided to create an Aircraft for Ariel photography. My aim is to make a trainer plane and attach a fpv camera to it. I have conducted some research on what each components are; servos, motors etc however I'm still unsure of how it all combines. Furthermore the fact that there are various different motors/ the terminology is hard to understand.
I would like some help on how to start making. (note: I'm on a very tight budget, I can spend max £80, not sure if it's possible to create an aircraft from this)
Questions: What components do I need? Is there a specific path I must follow?
Where is the best place to buy materials from?
How to design/make plans?

Thank you

Smoggie

Hi Mira,

Sounds like a fun project but if you are needing 'everything' including transmitter, servos, receiver, speed controller, motor, battery, FPV equipment, charger etc etc etc...... Then I'm afraid £80 is not even close to enough money for such a project. In fact for £80 you would find it hard to buy only the FPV equipment. In ballpark figures you would be looking at around £250 minimum to do this sort of project.

Last edited:

RandyDSok

As Smoggie indicated...

If you try to do this as you wrote it... it's going to be far outside of your budget. If on the otherhand, you didn't use the proper words for what you were asking or if you don't mind a minor change in those plans... it may be doable but just barely and you won't be using quality parts/hardware, it would only be a place to start.