450 Beginner controller setting dr/expo throttle pitch etc

Dizzle000

Hey guys so as some of you might have seen is I'm a beginner to helis. Small hovers etc just getting the hang of things and still trying to figure out how to set my tail gyro on my dx8 . Anyhow what do you guys recommend for setting up my controller the best and most forgiving I have a new align 450 pro 3gx .
I have no d/ r or expo my setting are:
Throttle 0-25-50-75-100
Pitch. 45-49-50-75-100
Dr/expo for aleron,elevator,rudder are all 0 dr and 0 expo
And in servo setup my aux2 for HH is 100% and rate is 100%
Should I be changing any of these to help me get used to and learn faster or should I just be using what I got and learning that way? Any and all help is very appreciated
Kyle

Tony

Staff member
Set your DR to 70 and Expo to +35%.

Set your throttle curve to 0 40 65 65 65

Set your Pitch curve to 46 48 50 75 100

With your gyro gain that high, you should have some serious wag in that thing. Move that down to 50%. Make sure your switch is set to Gyro and your Channel is Aux2. Remember, the higher the number, the more gain you have and the more travel the gyro is going to send to the servo.

Hope this helps.

cn63bug

I never used rate mode on mine but if memory serves me right, when you have the unit connected to your computer, when you make adjustments for you gain on your radio, you should see the change in the software. Typically, you want around 42 to 45% for gain on heading hold.
Your pitch curve looks good to me. On your throttle, I would increase it from 65 to maybe 75 or 85. It will give you some more stability from the increased head speed.
I know that Tony or some of the other guys on here could explain it better though.

Never mind, Tony to the rescue! :)

Last edited:

Tony

Staff member