General Align T-Rex 250 FBL (3GX) + Taranis

ore22

Alright, I'm a beginner so please be patient with me :)

I recently got the T-Rex 250 Pro DFC and a Taranis for myself since I wanted to start a new hobby (I have some experience with quad-copters and very small easy helicopters).
Yet, I am stuck now at the moment since the Taranis is quite a beast and the 3GX is as well. I think it all boils down to me not exactly understanding what the 3GX does and how it needs to be controlled.

What I have done so far:
* I built the helicopter according to the instructions and no parts were missing or too much :)
* I hooked up the X8R receiver to the 3GX and performed the binding process between the taranis and the receiver (it appears to be working)
* I watched the Youtube Video from rc-help.com, especially on the DIR mode (which I was successfully able to enter).

Yet, I was not able to get the behaviour which is shown here: (I added the exact time).

Now for a basic understanding and just to see if I got this right:
* In DIR mode, the output from the TX is simply put through to the servos
* Although it is a FBL system, I need to mix the inputs on my taranis to get the correct outputs for the servos (at some places I read that I must not mix outputs, others say I need to). To do this, I set the swash type to 120° in the Heli menu and I am using CYC1,2,3 outputs assigned to the various channels
* I would like to use Mode 2 (my TX is setup for that mode), which means that left stick up/down is throttle, left stick left/right is rudder, right stick up/down is nick and right stick left/right is roll. Why does the video show that if I move the left stick up/down in DIR mode will move up/down the whole collective. Is this some special thing of the DIR mode and once I leave the setup it will behave normally (THR)?