1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

700 700e Swash Plate Leveling

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by Peter Vice, Sep 8, 2018.

Tags:
  1. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    The k-bar is a Mikado V-bar clone. Its been around for at least 5 years now, both have.


    The Mikado V-bar was an industry top performer. Its been the reference point for gauging performance with other units.

    Now that I am remember.g things, I have my kbar in the heli bin. Anyhow do not upgrade it to the 6.0 level. Vstabi (the pc software for adjusting the vbar) will see it as a clone during the update process. All you need to do with a kbar is download the vstabi 5.3 software and connect the gyro. Only muck with the settings and thats it. I also have in the bin the Bluetooth adapter that will allow you to connect to your android device. Just let me know if any of this interests you for trying out. I'd be more than happy to box it up and ship it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    113
    DSMX or DSM2 will depend on what receivers you are using. If they have a large X embossed on the satellite cases, then they are DSMX. If they don't, then they are probably DSM2.
     
  3. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Thank you do I need to change anything in the radio or will it pick up automatically which receiver it is when binding?
     
  4. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Good morning Tony,
    I have taken the plunge and removed the 3GX from my old heli and want to install the beast x and Spectrum AR660T receiver which I have robbed out of my new helicopter kit. I have attached photos of my equipment please tell me if it is all compatible and must I connect all all or is some not needed ? Please guide me to the next video so I can start the installation, regards Peter 1 Radio.JPG 2 BX.JPG 3 spectrum reciever.JPG 4 Align B6X.JPG 5 Engine spped controller.JPG 6 Servos.JPG 1 Radio.JPG 2 BX.JPG 3 spectrum reciever.JPG 4 Align B6X.JPG 5 Engine spped controller.JPG 6 Servos.JPG 1 Radio.JPG 2 BX.JPG 3 spectrum reciever.JPG 4 Align B6X.JPG 5 Engine spped controller.JPG 6 Servos.JPG 1 Radio.JPG 1 Radio.JPG
     
  5. fran11784

    fran11784 Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Looks like a wonderful setup Peter, your going to love the BeastX....
    T
     
  6. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    I Would say don't worry about the voltage regulator, but I don't know anything about your servos or the esc.

    If you can adjust the output voltage of the esc then I would ditch the regulator. If not your stuck with it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
  7. fran11784

    fran11784 Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Opto coupled, no BEC?
     
  8. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Not loving it so far, have it bound cant find the link for the set up on your site watching someone else but a Futaba radio
    As I said before I must be stupid as everything I watch is not the same as I have or the person showing what he is doing assumes all this stuff is stored in my brain somewhere. Eight hours of fiddling reading and watching and all I have is everything connected bound but not functioning well. Please can you just direct me to where you have set this thing up with a Spectrum DX8 and the microbeast with the Spectrum receiver. Or perhaps a tutorial on finding information on your site. Peter
     
  9. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    fran11784 is just another use just like you ... Tony is the owner of the site but he's likely out working on the road ( a truck driver ). I might suggest using the forum search to help narrow down what you are looking for instead of expecting others to do the searching for you.
     
    Cyclone 7 likes this.
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Finding the exact video of what you are talking about is going to be almost impossible. With that said though, I do have videos on setting up the AR7200BX which is the exact same steps as the gyro you have.

    AR7200BX Gyro | Rc-Help Forum
     
  11. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    There are many videos out there on how to program the radio with default values. After that its going to be trial and error to find your exact set-up.

    As for the gyro, again there are plenty out there on how to program that fbl. I don't think all that much has changed since it first launched. Its all button presses to go through the setup. All you really need to know is what each step is. Once you know that it should not be to hard.

    One step on that gyro that could give you any issue is finding 6°, at least it has in the past with other people.
     
  12. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Good morning,
    So far I have positive and encouraging information, I am not lazy but find conflicting information and would be nice to have some consistent information. I am 65 and one lesson I have learned in life is not to be too proud to ask, I have trained numerous apprentices all excellent at their jobs because I took the time to teach them the basics. This is my very first set up I want to get it right, I am hungry to learn but if you feel brave in posting negative comments please keep you opinion to yourself. If Tony is a truck drive and chooses to offer his time to assist people like me, perhaps instead of posting nasty comments offer your help.
    Here is one for you clever boy----- In radio set up do you set the swash plate to normal or 180 degrees for a Beast X. I know the answer two "self proclaimed" professionals gave the opposite suggestion.
     
  13. Cyclone 7

    Cyclone 7 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, U.K.
    There is only one person here who seems to have a penchant for posting 'nasty comments' - and that person is certainly not Tony.
     
  14. fran11784

    fran11784 Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Peter, i can tell you by experience that this forum is the best place for help. I belong to them all. I would be happy to show you step by step tx setup. PM me if you want.
    T
     
    Peter Vice likes this.
  15. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Hi Mr T thank you so much for your offer. Actually this is the only site I post on I have just been watching various people on Utube and I believe you this site does seem to offer help. Needless to say I have never joined a site like this so navigating around it I feel like a dog chasing its tail. You say PM you mmmmm I will do as soon as I find out how. I printed out a copy of the Beast X installation manual and have been reading it most of today its a bit clearer. I suppose as Tony does the Utube videos everyone bombards him with boring same old same old info.
    Ill be back as Arnie Swazenegger would say, Regards Peter
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Okay everyone, lets try to keep the snide comments to a minimum on here. We are all here to learn and have fun.

    As for "Boring same old same old info", I find it fun to make the videos, and if you are like me, you learn better from watching rather than reading. The videos I linked to above are exactly what you are looking for. I'm not sure how much more help we can provide over what is in that video, or that video series rather. Every setup is going to be different not only in products used and on the helicopter, but also in setup. No two helicopters will have the exact same setup. Basically you take what info you find here and apply as much as you can to your situation and get it setup. Of course ask questions when you have them.
     
  17. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Hi Tony, thank you again for your time. It seems all the links you sent me are for the 3GX I have now removed that system and fitting the Beast X. Any videos on that set up, regards Peter
     
  18. fran11784

    fran11784 Member Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hi Peter, you must have missed it but he did give a beastX link. Its the AR7200bx but the menus are the same. Ive got a few links here and there are many more if you search. The second link is a playlist of the stand alone unit just like what you have step by step. One side note, both these videos are a bit old, V3. You have a V4 so in step A you will find 8 different mounting orientations rather then just 2. Also you wont have a step N with the V4, (Pirouette optimization direction). Everything else is identical.


     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018 at 9:27 AM
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,481
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The last link (posted again below) are on the AR7200BX. This is the EXACT SAME SETUP PROCESS as the gyro you have.

    AR7200BX Gyro | Rc-Help Forum
     
  20. Peter Vice

    Peter Vice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Spain
    Hi Cyclone,
    mmmm that cant be your name but if you are old enough to remember sanctions then you will know I am not throwing anything away. I did buy a brand new 700E but have robbed the Beast X out the package, and busy installing it in my old heli, as you have suggested and hopefully I can set it up gain reasonable experience to feel confident to put my new model together.
    I have Tony from RC- Helicopters helping me and another very nice American also named Tony who has taken the time to video the radio set up for me.
    I am retired and just moved to Spain after 16 years in the UK, I do have to watch the pennies but fortunate enough to be in a position to explore without breaking the bank. Before my 3GX failed on me it was my full intention to fly and build my new heli and when competent enough fly the new one and sell the old.
    I have just realized I am rambling on publicly instead of writing to you directly, sorry gentleman. Regards Peter
     

Share This Page