450 3GX Gyro

fallinffast

I'm a newbie looking to purchase a trex-450L Dominator but after reading about 3GX issues I don't know what to do.

What issues?

JD

- - - Updated - - -

Sorry, I should have posted in the beginner help!

Tony

Staff member
In most cases, if you use V5.0 you will not have any issues at all. 3.1 doesn't like to be on the ground, and 4.0 has tail issues. There are rare cases of 5.0 having tail issues, but mine is very stable.

If you are worried about it though, get the Dominator without a gyro and get either a BeastX or an Ikon. They are both great gyro's.

Slobberdog

no in this section is ok,

Personally I fly my 250 with the 3gx without any problems, but I do fly it on an older software version, V3.1.

if I was going for a new kit I would go for the super combo kit and have the 3gx removed, can do that in some shops in the uk, and then put an Ar7200Bx fbl controller on it, it will be better for a beginner and that gyro is very good at what it does,

if its a 360 blade size heli your after though, the new KDS chase 360 range look very nice, but will come out a little more expensive as you put your own electrics in it,

there is such a good choice out there now that I would have to have a look around,

Tony

Staff member
Hey, look in the classifieds section of the forum. There is a Warp 360 for sale in there that Gaba is selling. It's a great helicopter and I wish I could get it for myself. But, no money. It's a hell of a deal.

Derek

As far as the 3gx goes, I use to have version 3.1 on my 450 Pro DFC. It took a bit of getting use to in order to get the helicopter off the ground but once it was in the air, it was SOLID!!! I never did try v4.0, but I've recently updated to v5.0 and I'm loving it! It's solid on the ground, during spool up and spool down, and it's very solid in the air.

fallinffast

Wow...you guys reply fast!