General Spektrum DX7s Backlight install Serious Damage!

sundayflyer

Hi Guys, Just wanted to warn about a complete disaster I had when trying to install a backlight to my rx (DX7s)
I followed instructions to install the EL panel only to find out that it was for the DX7, part of the install was to remove the silver backing on the lcd screen but when I checked,
the instruction was of course wrong.
Let me tell you, when you have removed the backing, to put it back is almost impossible :(.
This tx is brand new, you cannot get spares for it, you cannot buy new film for the back of the lcd.
in the end I had to contact horizon hobbies and have arranged to send it in for a repair.
I know I am a noob but now I feel downright stupid!
Please don't make the same mistake as me.
Andy.

DONT DO IT! I a DX 7SE and the backlight installed at A Pro Hobbies back in May of 2010 and worked fine until about 6 months ago. I turn on my TX and have a pretty blue screen and that is it. No model information and cant change between models. Tried changing the contrast but nothing changes. You hear beeps but nothing so now my TX is useless. A Pro cant fix says I have to go to Horizon. Since my TX has been Modified Horizon will not touch it. Suggested I contact Radio south rc. Tony says suggested i check the contrast (must not have read that I already did that). Then says that it sounded like its the LCD screen and horizon will not sell them to him. So there you have it. The complete circle and now my TX is trash. Good Luck but dont do it. Buying Futaba next. lol

john49

I put back light in my dx 7s as soon as i got it and it never worked after that never even got a chance to use it.I left it in to my lhs they have now sent it back to horizon to se if it can be fixed and at what cost.I dont know why they dont put a backlight in them when thy are been made surly it wouldnt cost that much. I will keep you posted and let you know how i get on with hh

John

sundayflyer