General Spektrum DX7s Backlight install Serious Damage!

Marshall

Hi Guys, Just wanted to warn about a complete disaster I had when trying to install a backlight to my rx (DX7s)
I followed instructions to install the EL panel only to find out that it was for the DX7, part of the install was to remove the silver backing on the lcd screen but when I checked,
the instruction was of course wrong.
Let me tell you, when you have removed the backing, to put it back is almost impossible :(.
This tx is brand new, you cannot get spares for it, you cannot buy new film for the back of the lcd.
in the end I had to contact horizon hobbies and have arranged to send it in for a repair.
I know I am a noob but now I feel downright stupid!
Please don't make the same mistake as me.
Andy.

coolgabsi

Super Mod & DEAL KING!
sorry to hear about that bro! :( yeah dx7 and dx7s are very different in design. dx7 was JR based / JR similar software too.. almost a rebranded JR radio..

DX7S is Spektrum's own everything.. Sorry to hear! And THANKS A LOT for the heads up!!

hope you get it fixed..

HH charging arm and a leg for repair ?

helicc16

the Smoothie Pilot
If it makes you feel any better, I once destroyed a completely good DX6i in the same manner. I stopped trying to "enhance" my transmitters since.

Tony

Staff member
Just an FYI, the EL screen will shine through that backing. Not well, but well enough. And yes, there is a very thin film just under that layer that will kill the screen. This is one of the major reasons I no longer promote or sell a backlight kit for any Tx's. Way too much can go wrong.

wolfman76

i think HH charges a standard of about 30-35 hour for their labor had to send my dx6i in before

pavotibio

Guys, I was about to order a backlight kit for my DX7S when I ran into this post.
So there´s no way it works whatsoever?
I'd really appreciate your advice.

These are the links I was gonna get it from: