1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

450 Servo Flip?

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by Rob Lancaster, Nov 4, 2018.

< Goblin 420 Ikon 2 Throttle Issues | Blade Mcp X Flight! >
  1. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Yeah and apple will make it.
     
  2. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Wireless servos?!
    Is this for real?
     
  3. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    No but I wish it was. You know how much weight you can cut.
     
  4. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Yeah but give it time...…………………..
     
  5. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Oh hey, I got my new servos today. Wow all the way to Hawaii in three days.. That's what I like about amain hobby; their fast and the shipping was free! Love it!

    Ok time for the question of the day...
    As you guys know, I upgraded to the Hitec HS-5065MG digital servos. same as the old ones but digital.
    It says PROGRAMMABLE on the package. What does that mean?
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,225
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can use a servo programmer to set them up. Not worth it IMO.
     
  7. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    That's what I thought, especially after I found the slim paper instructions...:biggrin1:
    I was hoping I didn't need a program doo hickee box.
    Thanks boss!!
    Hey I just installed them, and getten ready to center the horns; fun, fun fun!!….
     
  8. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    that's a feature for a specific application, you fill in the blank as to the application, Helis are not all that complex to need a program to rum them. All they need is the input fr the sticks.
    Besides I don't even know what you would want to program on them.
     
  9. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hi guys!
    I finally took up the 450 today.
    No servo drift now but I still need to trim it up a bit.
    Also I need to dial in the gyro too. seems to be jittering back and for a bit.
    The tracking could be better too...

    One thing I noticed was, I wasn't getting any telemetry.
    I get telemetry with the Blade 130S so it must be the TM1000 on board the 450.
    Anyway I'll check it but if its fried; its going into the recycle bin...
    I still need to scoop up that Trex 450 pro at my LHS... I really want to work with that head and such before moving on.
    All the electronics I have on the 450 clone will be perfect for that babee!...
    Upwards guys!!
    Rster...
     
  10. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hi everybody, mostly good news; HA!
    Ok she flies great after a bit of trimming.. But there's still a slight horizontal wiggle in the tail. I pretty much went up and down the gyro settings but still a slight wiggle..

    I thought I read somewhere on the site, about maybe the ESC's (P and I) settings may be the cause.
    Running the Hobbywing Platinum V4 ESC ( I have the P-BOX) and the Scorpion 2520 3500kv 11.1v motor... Trex 450 clone...

    Oh;! The telemetry problem was a simple rebinding thing. I took the TM-1000 out of the loop while I was testing the servo problem. Some of the tests required rebinding, (but without the TM1000 in the loop). When I re-hooked up the TM-1000 again to the AR8000, there was no telemetry until I simply rebound everything together. BOOM! there she blows! I'm all proud of myself now, he, he, hee....

    Anyway, what do you guys think about that pesky tail wiggle??
    Rster...
     
  11. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,225
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    tail wiggle sounds like a tail gyro issue. It can be the ESC as you stated, but you would not only have to be running a governor but you would also hear the motor ramping up and down quickly. To me, this is a gyro thing.

    It can be one of 3 things. Either the gain is too high, the gain is too low, or you are using a cheap servo on the tail that can't keep up. If you are using a slower tail servo (I know you posted this before but with lack of time, TLDR), you can add just a touch of delay to get rid of the hunting.

    Speaking of hunting, lets talk about the different tail movements. "Slight Wiggle" only says so much. If it is fast, it's an oscillation. If it is slow, it is hunting.

    If you are hunting, then the tail gain is either too low or your servo is not fast enough. If you have oscillations, then your gain is too high.

    And congrats on the telemetry. I have been there myself lol.
     
  12. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'd say; with your descriptions above, it's more like an oscillation (quick)… I've been creeping upward on the gyro and now I'm at 63%. It seems to like the higher % but still a slight oscillation remains. My gyro is a Spartan Quark and the servo is a Futaba S9257 digital...
    The ESC is set for GOV- store...

    What is the delay you mentioned? Robs curios about that...

    Hey what about this... I recently replaced the belt and idler pulley in the tail assembly. Should I reset the gyro? You know, end points, centering and all that stuff... Maybe after reassembly something isn't exactly the same.
    Rster...
     
  13. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Look at the ball to center distance on the servo arm. If the ball is fine at our you can get a slow way. This causes by the servo not having the resolution needed to center up.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,225
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It can never hurt to go over the setup again.
     
  15. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I finally reset the gyro and took her out for a couple of flights today. I also played around with the gain. It's better but the tail is still slightly oscillating. Sometimes it's stable and sometimes she oscillates a little... Other than that she flies good.
     
< Goblin 420 Ikon 2 Throttle Issues | Blade Mcp X Flight! >

Share This Page