Recommendations for servo cable, crimper, and connectors

Geena

Staff member
I have been using a Hensen Deluxe crimper for several years, and I`ve been very happy with it. It`s a little pricey, but worth it in my opinion.

Tony

Staff member
What do you think?
I have very similar crimpers and they will get the job done. It's not the best looking crimp and you may have to move it around to get it to look good and fit inside the servo plug, but at the end of the day, they do work. I have made quite a few servo extensions, and if you saw my video that brought you here, you saw exactly how mine work.

The ones that Geena posted will have a smoother and more accurate profile that will crimp perfectly every time as long as you have everything lined up. Just depends on pocked depth and if you are willing to play around with it.

If you have not seen my video, I linked it below. In the video, I also show a smaller pair of crimpers.

IDRick

Thanks, Geena! nice crimper! I did spend quite a bit of time looking around the Hansen Hobbies site.

Tony, thanks for the video, I found it while searching with google. Very well done!

This is a challenging time for me in that I don't know enough about the subject to be dangerous!

I’ve been evaluating options for servo extensions. Of course, the easiest route is to buy pre-made extensions but they are the most expensive option per foot of length. Other drawbacks include more connectors, less than optimal cable lengths, and leftover pieces.

The least expensive option is to purchase several short extensions (say 1 ft) and splice in servo wire to obtain optimal length. Would only need to purchase JR servo wire. I want to keep the same wire color code throughout (servo extensions, servo pigtails, and pigtail for Berrett Hill toggle switches).