General Rate mode or Heading Hold

I'm not sure if this is in the right place but I want to know what and why there is Rate mode and Heading hold.

As a complete novice I would like to know a few things before I tried them!!

What benefits are there flying in each mode ?
Is it easier to fly in one mode or the other ?

I've noticed in heading hold the tail rotor stays in the position you move the stick to and rate mode it springs back to centre.... Why ?

Yeah I'm thick!!... Lol

Lee

Rate mode makes the tail act like a weather vain. following the heli like the feathers of a dart.
This gives the heli a more scale feel.
HeadHold is exactly that. It holds the heading, no matter what the outside influences are.
So almost all pilots other than Scale, and speed, fly in HH.

Rate mode makes the tail act like a weather vain. following the heli like the feathers of a dart.
This gives the heli a more scale feel.
HeadHold is exactly that. It holds the heading, no matter what the outside influences are.
So almost all pilots other than Scale, and speed, fly in HH.

hi Lee

thanks for that, so if i was to learn in HH is it difficult to change to RM, i can imagine it will be hard to change over from one to the other, especially when your as skilled as me....lol, not

Lee

99% of people fly in HH.
By the time you get to flying a speed machine or trying to make a Scale heli fly more realistically, RM will be easy :D

coolgabsi

Super Mod & DEAL KING!
If you are planning to fly "scale " and do scale patterns and you care about "keeping it scale" .. Then yes practice rate mode as well

I have been flying for 3+ years now, and never , I mean never have I flown in rate mode. Rate mode is now left mainly to setup the heli's tail and check responses, center positions and such. After that, once heli is maidened and tail is set, then it's all heading hold from there